Electronic Communications of the EASST Volume 53 (2012)



Proceedings of the 12th International Workshop on Automated Verification of Critical Systems (AVoCS 2012)

Preface

2 pages

Guest Editors: Gerald Lüttgen, Stephan Merz Managing Editors: Tiziana Margaria, Julia Padberg, Gabriele Taentzer

ECEASST Home Page: http://www.easst.org/eceasst/

ISSN 1863-2122



Preface

AVoCS 2012, the 12th International Workshop on *Automated Verification of Critical Systems*, was organized by the Software Technologies Research Group at the University of Bamberg, Germany, between 18–20th September 2012. AVoCS is an annual meeting of researchers and practitioners interested in tools and techniques for the verification of critical systems, understood in a broad and inclusive sense. Topics of interest cover all aspects of automated verification, including model checking, theorem proving, abstract interpretation, and refinement concepts suitable for various types of critical systems (safety-critical, security-critical, business-critical, performance-critical, etc.). Contributions that describe integrations of different techniques or applications to industrial case studies are of particular interest.

Previous editions of AVoCS were organized in Oxford (2001), Birmingham (2002), Southampton (2003), London (2004), Warwick (2005), Nancy (2006), Glasgow (2008), Swansea (2009), Düsseldorf (2010), and Newcastle (2011).

AVoCS 2012 received 29 submissions of full papers, out of which the programme committee decided to accept 11 for presentation at the workshop. AVoCS traditionally also offers the possibility for short presentations of ongoing work. Out of 8 such submissions, 5 were accepted. In addition, the workshop programme featured invited talks by Jon Holt, Michael Goldsmith, Jaco van de Pol and Christoph Weidenbach.

The present volume represents the workshop post-proceedings and contains revised versions of the full papers accepted by the programme committee, together with a paper that details the invited talk by Jaco van de Pol.

We wish to thank all authors who submitted contributions to AVoCS 2012, the invited speakers who agreed to present at the workshop, the members of the programme committee for their commitment to the success of the workshop, and the additional reviewers who supported the programme committee in the evaluation and selection process.

The workshop's organization would not have been possible without the generous support of the University of Bamberg, Formal Methods Europe, and medatixx GmbH & Co KG. The Easy-Chair conference management system designed by Andrei Voronkov proved once again to be an invaluable tool for communication within the programme committee and with the authors.

November 2012

Gerald Lüttgen (gerald.luettgen@swt-bamberg.de) Stephan Merz (stephan.merz@loria.fr)

1 / 2 Volume 53 (2012)



Programme Committee

Jiří Barnat Masaryk University Brno, CZ Radu Calinescu University of York, UK

Javier Esparza TU Munich, D

Michael Goldsmith University of Oxford, UK

Constance Heitmeyer Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, DC, US

Keijo Heljanko Aalto University, FI Holger Hermanns Saarland University, D Cliff Jones Newcastle University, UK

Gerald Lüttgen University of Bamberg, D, Co-Chair Stephan Merz Inria Nancy & LORIA, F, Co-Chair

Alice Miller

Markus Roggenbach
Thomas Santen
Tayssir Touili
Helen Treharne
Laurent Voisin

University of Glasgow, UK
Swansea University, UK
Microsoft Research Aachen, D
CNRS & LIAFA, Paris, F
University of Surrey, UK
Systerel, Aix-en-Provence, F

Additional Reviewers

Islam Abdelhalim University of Surrey, UK
Petr Bauch Masaryk University Brno, CZ
Nikola Beneš Masaryk University Brno, CZ
Ferenc Bujtor University of Augsburg, D

Gianfranco Ciardo University of California, Riverside, US

Marielle Doche-Petit Systerel, Aix-en-Provence, F

Jori Dubrovin
Christian Eisentraut
Arnd Hartmanns
Clément Houtmann
Phillip James
Kenneth Johnson
Aalto University, FI
Saarland University, D
Systerel, Aix-en-Provence, F
Swansea University, UK
University of York, UK

Jan Kretinsky TU Munich, D

Jussi Lahtinen Technical Research Centre of Finland, FI

Tuomas Launiainen Aalto University, FI Hugo Daniel Macedo University of Minho, P

Andrew Miner Iowa State University, Ames, IA, US

Jan Tobias Mühlberg KU Leuven, B René Neumann TU Munich, D

Hoang Nga Nguyen Swansea University, UK
Petr Rockai Masaryk University Brno, CZ

Wendelin Serwe Inria Rhône-Alpes, F Antti Siirtola Aalto University, FI

Radu Siminiceanu National Institute in Aerospace, Hampton, VA, US

Fu Song LIAFA, Paris, F

Jana Tumova Masaryk University Brno, CZ

Siert Wieringa Aalto University, FI

Proc. AVoCS 2012 2 / 2