190

Obituary Prof. Dr. Dieter Treutter

On May 7, 2016, the academic community specializing in pomology and food quality lost an outstanding colleague.

After studying Horticultural Sciences at the Technical University of Munich (1976 - 1982), Dieter Treutter received his Ph.D. (1985) under the supervision of Prof. Walter Feucht. In 1992, he earned his lecturer degree in Pomology after submitting a postdoctoral thesis about catechins and proanthocyanidins and their impact for fruit grower and consumers at the Technical University of Munich. Thereafter, he worked for 2 years (1996-1997) as a postdoctoral scholar at the University of Salamanca at Spain. He then joined the faculty at the Technical University of Munich (1997-1999) as Assistent Professor. In 1999, he was appointed Associate Professor at the Technical University at Munich. He was mainly responsible for the establishment of the Horticultural Sciences at the Technical University of Munich. After his successful and dedicated work as a chair of pomology at the Technical University of Munich, he served as President of the German Society for Quality Research of Plant Food (DGQ) for eight years (1995-2003). For his scientific impact he has been awarded with three awards and an honorary doctorate (Dr. h.c.) für pomology by the Corvinus University at Budapest (Hungary).

His professional interests were mainly focused on polyphenols for food quality, plant resistance and human health. His expertise in pomology continues to be highly achnowleged in scientific journals where he served as a Section Editor for the Journal of Applied Botany and Food Quality (JABFQ). According to the Web of Science, he published about 175 original papers. He was a dedicated teacher in the area of pomology and food quality and the students loved him for his friendly and open personality. He will be deeply missed in the scientific community of pomology. We honor his scientific achievements in pomology and food quality and will always keep him in our memory.

KH dicht: Karl H. Mühling

Karl H. Mühling (President DGQ)

Hartwig Schulz

(Editor JABFQ)