

University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections

1983

Internal Medicine

UND Departmental Histories

Barb Schuetz University of North Dakota

Reed T. Keller University of North Dakota

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/departmental-histories Part of the Internal Medicine Commons

Recommended Citation

Schuetz, Barb and Keller, Reed T., "Internal Medicine" (1983). UND Departmental Histories. 40. https://commons.und.edu/departmental-histories/40

This Book is brought to you for free and open access by the Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in UND Departmental Histories by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact zeineb.yousif@library.und.edu.

DEPARTMENTAL HISTORIES

PUBLISHED ON THE OCCASION OF THE CENTENNIAL OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH DAKOTA, GRAND FORKS



INTERNAL MEDICINE By Barb Schuetz and Reed T. Keller, MD

HISTORY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF INTERNAL MEDICINE

by

Barb Schuetz and Reed T. Keller, MD

When the University of North Dakota School of Medicine was established in 1905, there was apparently no thought given to the formation or function of the Department of Medicine. One practitioner, Dr. August Eggers, was the only faculty member listed as a lecturer in Physical Diagnosis. Being a hearty soul, he continued to teach this class, apparently alone, for the next 25 years. In 1930, Dr. J. H. Hetherington relieved Dr. Eggers as the lecturer in Physical Diagnosis. At that time, the first appointment as lecturer in Medicine was given to Dr. W. H. Witherstone, who was the first to initiate a course in clinical medicine. In 1933 Dr. Harry Benwell, a community practitioner, became appointed to the faculty as a lecturer in Physical Diagnosis. In 1938, Dr. Benwell accepted the responsibilities for the surgical lectures and Dr. Westmoreland became the Physical Diagnosis lecturer. Subsequently, additional lecturers such as Dr. Rich, Dr, Dailey, and Dr. R. Goehl were added to the Clinical faculty. Dr. E. A. Haunz, who was later to become Chairman of the Department, was added as a clinical lecturer in 1948.

In 1952, a formal Department of Medicine was organized. At that time there were nine Clinical Associates in Medicine and an Associate Professor of Psychiatry. The Department's responsibility had expanded into several courses including Physical Diagnosis, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics, Pediatrics, and Psychyopathology.

In 1954, a community physician, Dr. R. Goehl was appointed the first part-time head of Medicine. A three week clinical clerkship was initiated to prepare the students for transfers to other medical schools. By 1956 the Department of Obstetrics was organized and the Department of Medicine was relieved of teaching the students the basic principles of care of the pregnant female. In 1962, Dr. E. A. Haunz who still maintains an active clinical practice, was appointed Chairman of the Department of Medicine. He continued in this position until the Medical School was expanded into a four year degree granting institution.

Tremendous change for the Department of Medicine occured in 1973. The North Dakota State Legislature had directed the School of Medicine to expand to offer the four year degree. The first two years to be completed in the Grand Forks area, the third year clerkship would be offered at the University of Minnesota School of Medicine and the fourth year would be in the various community hospitals throughout the state of North Dakota. The first full-time Chairman of the Department, Dr. Reed Keller, a North Dakota native, joined the Department in October 1973. By 1974, the first full-time positions had been recruited into the Fargo Veterans Administration Hospital in conjunction with the Department of Medicine. Drs. Fred Hofeldt, Larry Pelletier, John Thompson, and Ms. Osama El-Arini were the first four full-time faculty members recruited into the new department.

By 1975, the Internal Medicine Residency Program had received approval and the first few residents were initiated in their three year clinical training program in Fargo. Since the conception of this program, over 20 fully trained internists have been placed in practice throughout the state of North Dakota.

The Department has, in the last decade, continued to grow and expand. At the current time, 17 internists and subspecialists, 11 part-time subspecialists and over 145 part-time voluntary faculty throughout the state compromise the Department of Medicine. In addition to the Professional Staff, the Department employs 19 Adminstrative, Secretarial, and Research personnel. Nearly \$1 million of research grants and academic awards are generated yearly.

The Department will continue to grow as we expand our curriculum to include the Third Year Clerkship. By July 1983 the entire Third Year class will have returned to North Dakota instead of to the University of Minnesota School of Medicine. The Department has and will continue to grow successfully from the dedication and hard work of the full-time faculty, community faculty, and staff.

2