

University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

UND Departmental Histories

Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections

2008

Finance

Nancy Beneda University of North Dakota

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/departmental-histories

Part of the Finance and Financial Management Commons

Recommended Citation

Beneda, Nancy, "Finance" (2008). *UND Departmental Histories*. 71. https://commons.und.edu/departmental-histories/71

This Book is brought to you for free and open access by the Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in UND Departmental Histories by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact zeineb.yousif@library.und.edu.

UNIVERSITY OF NORTH DAKOTA :: QUASQUICENTENNIAL :: DEPARTMENT HISTORY



UNIVERSITY OF NORTH DAKOTA 1883-2008 CELEBRATING 125 YEARS

FINANCE



Nancy Beneda, Ph.D

Finance Department History (Fall 1983 to Spring 2008)

Prior to fall 1987 finance courses were offered by the department of management. The department of finance was formed and began its existence beginning in 1987 (fall semester). Rolf Tedefalk was the department's first chairperson. For the first year (fall 1987 to Spring 1988) the tenure-track faculty included Rolf Tedefalk (Chair), Jeong Lee, Donald Escarraz, Thomas Potter, and Theron Nelson. The curriculum included the core course, Fin 310 Principles of Financial Management. The major was "Financial Management" which included the following required courses:

Fin 320 Principles of Real Estate

Fin 330 Principles of Risk Management and Insurance

Fin 340 Capital Market Theory

Fin 350 Financial Data Analysis

Fin 360 Capital Market Financing and Investing

Fin 410 Cases in Managerial Finance

Fin 420Investment and Portfolio Analysis

Fin 430 International Finance

Chairperson, Rolf Tedefalk, retired at the end of the first year (spring 1988). Theron Nelson became the department chairperson and Denise Markovich transferred to the finance department from the economics department in January 1989. For the next ten years, fall 1990 until spring 2000, the tenure-track faculty consisted of Theron Nelson (Chair), Jeong Lee, Donald Escarraz, Thomas Potter, and Denise Markovich.

The finance curriculum was housed in the Division of Accounting and Finance, beginning in the fall of 1996 until Spring 2001. Denise Markovich and Donald Excarraz retired in the Spring of 1999 and Jim Haskins was hired to replace Denise starting in the fall of 1999. Thus for the academic year fall, 1999 to spring 2000, the finance tenure-track faculty consisted Theron Nelson, Jeong Lee, Thomas Potter, and James Haskins. Nancy Beneda was hired to start

in the fall of 2000, so for the year fall 2000 to spring 2001 the tenure-track finance faculty included Theron Nelson, Jeong Lee, Thomas Potter, James Haskins, and Nancy Beneda.

Beginning in the fall of 2001, the use of divisions was eliminated in the CoBPA and the finance department started up again. For that first year (fall 2001 to spring 2002) there were no faculty changes. The tenure-track faculty consisted of Theron Nelson (Chair), Jeong Lee, James Haskins, Thomas Potter, and Nancy Beneda.

At the end of spring 2002, Thomas Potter retired and Wm Steven Smith was hired. For the academic year Fall 2002 to Spring 2006, the tenure track faculty consisted of Theron Nelson (Chair), Jeong Lee, James Haskins, Nancy Beneda, and Wm. Steven Smith. Also, the A Kirk Lanterman Investment Center was completed and the Student Managed Investment Fund began in Spring 2005

Theron Nelson passed away at the end of spring 2006, Susan Logan Nelson transferred to the finance department from the marketing department beginning in the fall of 2006, and Nancy Beneda became the department chair in the fall of 2006. Susan Logan Nelson teaches real estate and sport business courses, thus her line was an additional line for the department.

Thus, for the academic year, fall 2006 to spring 2007, the tenure-track faculty: Nancy Beneda (Chair), Jeong Lee, James Haskins, Wm. Steven Smith, Steve Dennis, Susan Logan Nelson.

Also, Steve Dennis began this academic year as the Aarstad Endowed Chair of Banking (this position is split between Economics and Finance Departments). He teaches the student managed investment fund course for the Department of Finance. Since his and Susan Logan Nelson's lines represented additional lines, the finance department was still short one tenure-track faculty position for this academic year (fall 2006 to spring 2007).

To fill the empty line, Yilei Zhang was added to the tenure-track faculty beginning in Fall 2007. Thus for the academic year fall 2007 to Spring 2008, the tenure-track faculty consisted of Nancy Beneda (Chair), Jeong Lee, James Haskins, Wm. Steven Smith, Steve Dennis, Susan Logan Nelson, and Yilei Zhang.