Ribbon Cutting

PCOM School of Pharmacy - Georgia Campus Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine



12:00 Noon Friday, November 12, 2010

625 Old Peachtree Road NW Suwanee, Georgia

Ribbon Cutting Celebration

Mark Okamoto, PharmD, Presiding

Dean and Chief Academic Officer

PCOM School of Pharmacy - Georgia Campus

Welcome

Dr. Okamoto

Invocation

Michael Deimling, PhD, RPh Associate Dean for Academics and Assessment

Pledge of Allegiance

Student Pharmacist Marco Ragins
Sergeant First Class, USA (Ret.)

Introductions and Recognitions

Timothy Poole, PharmD

Greetings

Matthew Schure, PhD
President and Chief Executive Officer
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine

Remarks

Mr. John P. Kearney Member, Board of Trustees Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine

Why Another School of Pharmacy for Georgia

John Fleischmann, EdD, MBA, MPA

Campus Executive Officer

Response

Student Pharmacist Albertine (Tina) Kazmark

Inaugural Class Chair

Cutting the Ribbon

Dr. Schure, Mr. Kearney, Dean Okamoto, Board of Trustee Members and Georgia Campus PCOM Leadership Also Participating Student Pharmacists Albertine Kazmark and Marco Ragins

Closing Remarks

Dr. Okamoto

Please join us for light refreshments in the rotunda at the conclusion of the ceremony.

Board of Trustees

OFFICERS

Paul W. McGloin, LLD (Hon.)CPA Chair of the Board

Eugene B. Chaiken, LLD (Hon.) Vice Chair

Matthew Schure, PhD
President and Chief Executive Officer

Kenneth J, Veit, DO '76, MBA Provost, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, and Dean

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD

Bernard J. Bernacki, DO '81 James H. Black, DO '62, LLD (Hon.) J. Steven Blake, DO '89 John B. Bulger, DO '95 Eugene B. Chaiken, LLD (Hon.) Lita Indzel Cohen, Esquire The Honorable Terry Coleman Joseph A. Dieterle, DO, '70 Peter Doulis, CPA Vice President for Finance and Chief Financial Officer

Florence D. Zeller, MPA, CFRE Vice President for Alumni Relations and Development

Robert G. Cuzzolino, EdD Vice President for Graduate Programs and Planning Lavinia Lafferty Executive Assistant to the President and Secretary

Joan McGettigan Assistant to the President and Assistant Secretary

Elizabeth H. Gemmill, Esquire) Thomas J. Gravina John P. Kearney

John P. Kearney Vincent Lobo, DO '65 Herbert Lotman, LLD (Hon.) Robert S. Maurer, DO '62** Paul W. McGloin, LLD (Hon.) Louis P. Meshon, Sr. Andrea D. Pedano, DO '90 Matthew Schure, PhD Wayne T. Sikes Etheldra Templeton* Kenneth J. Veit, DO '76, MBA Murray Zedeck, DO '62 * Faculty Representative

** Alumni Representative

A Brief History

While the PCOM of 2010 bustles with the intellectual activity of 2,287 professional and graduate students in a variety of programs at its Georgia and Philadelphia campuses, the College has grown from a small seed planted more than a century ago. When osteopathic schools were forming throughout the country in the 1890's, two students at the Northern Institute of Osteopathy in Minneapolis, Mason W. Pressly and Oscar John Snyder, targeted Philadelphia as a future home for an osteopathic medical college. The two pioneering osteopathic physicians followed through with their vision, incorporating the Philadelphia College and Infirmary of Osteopathy on January 24, 1899.

The first PCIO class, comprised of only two students, graduated in February 1900 from the fledgling college. The College prospered and has continued to grow. The medical curriculum intensified, research was initiated, and clinic and hospital services grew rapidly as the medical school's student body and faculty expanded dramatically.

Graduate programs were added to PCOM's academic offerings in 1993, and today PCOM's graduate students pursue studies at the master's and doctoral level in biomedical sciences, counseling and clinical health psychology, clinical psychology, school psychology, organizational development/leadership, forensic medicine and physician assistant studies. In 2004, PCOM established its first branch campus in Gwinnett County. This new academic facility features full educational resources, student services, and technological links to the Philadelphia campus. August 15, 2005 marked one of the proudest days in PCOM's history - the first 86 Georgia Campus - PCOM students began their osteopathic medical education.

Now, a new era has dawned with the PCOM School of Pharmacy - Georgia Campus. This new professional school bears witness to PCOM's commitment to Georgia and the surrounding states to offer professional healthcare education at the highest level possible

The faculty and administration are pleased that you are with us on this important day in PCOM's history as we celebrate the opening of the PCOM School of Pharmacy - Gerogia Campus and embrace the promise of our GA-PCOM students' futures in the professional communities of pharmacy and osteopathic medicine.

PCOM School of Pharmacy - Georgia Campus Faculty and Staff

Administration

Matthew Schure, PhD. President and Chief Executive Officer

Kenneth J. Veit, DO '76, MBA, Provost

Mark Okamoto, PharmD, Dean and Chief Academic Officer, Professor of Pharmacy

John Fleischmann, EdD, MBA, MPA, Campus Executive Officer

Faculty

Yun Bai, PhD, Assistant Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences

Julie Wickman Bierster, PharmD, Assistant Professor and Clinical Coordinator, Experiential Education

Michael J. Deimling, RPh. PhD, Associate Dean for Academics and Assessment, Professor of

Pharmaceutical Sciences

Dee Fanning, PharmD, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice

Mandana Ghodrat, PharmD, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice

Samuel M. John, PharmD, BS, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice

John Kermode, PhD, Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Mark Okamoto, PharmD, Dean and Chief Academic Officer, Professor of Pharmacy

Harish S. Parihar, RPh, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical Science

Timothy Poole, PharmD, Chair of Pharmacy Practice, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice

Mandy Reece, PharmD, BC-ADM, CDE, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice

Brent Rollins, PhD, RPh, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice

Greg Smallwood, PharmD, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice

Avadhesh C. Sharma, PharmD, PhD, Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Science

Desuo Wang, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical Science

Eric Wang, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Staff

Limiat Abdulwahid

Administrative Assistant, Pharmacy Practice

Valerie Britt

Financial Aid Assistant

Tiffany Bryan

Receptionist

Trina Bursey
Student Affairs Coordinator, GA-PCOM Center for

Student Affairs Lisa D'Addieco

Business Services Coordinator

Aisha DeBerry

Admissions Coordinator

Meghan Di Rito

Library Assistant Markell Elder

Media Specialist Trena Gologan

Admissions Coordinator

Meera Gujjar Research Assistant

Torrian Hall

Computer Lab Technician

Colleen Heer

Administrative Assistant, Pharmaceutical Sciences

Patience Mason

Associate Director, GA-PCOM Center for Student Affairs

Judi McFeeters

Administrative Assistant, Pharmaceutical Sciences

Michelle Repass

Administrative Assistant to the Dean

Erica Rosalle

Library Assistant

Richard Saldivar

Library Assistant

Tamará Scaccia Administrative Assistant, GA-PCOM Center for

Student Affairs

Melissa Speed

Reference & Educational Librarian

Laurel Starling

Financial Aid Coordinator

Julie Stevens Administrative Assistant, Pharmacy Practice

Leander Tice Technical Support Supervisor

Russ Tzonev

Security

Dan Warbington

Building Services