North Carolina Central Law Review

Volume 12 Number 2 Volume 12, Number 2

Article 2

4-1-1981

Introduction

Jimmy D. Sharpe

Jo Hill Dobbins

Follow this and additional works at: https://archives.law.nccu.edu/ncclr



Part of the <u>Judges Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Sharpe, Jimmy D. and Dobbins, Jo Hill (1981) "Introduction," North Carolina Central Law Review: Vol. 12: No. 2, Article 2. Available at: https://archives.law.nccu.edu/ncclr/vol12/iss2/2

This Comment is brought to you for free and open access by History and Scholarship Digital Archives. It has been accepted for inclusion in North Carolina Central Law Review by an authorized editor of History and Scholarship Digital Archives. For more information, please contact jbeeker@nccu.edu.

INTRODUCTION*

The articles collected in this series were presented by nationally recognized legal scholars in a lecture program following the formal dedication of the new Albert L. Turner Law Building at North Carolina Central University. The lectures were conducted over a two-day period, September 19-20, 1980.

The dedication ceremony attracted one of the most prestigious groups of jurists, educators, and community leaders ever assembled on a North Carolina college campus. Among those present were Associate Justice Potter Stewart of the United States Supreme Court, Federal District Court Judge Richard C. Erwin of the Middle District of North Carolina, North Carolina Governor James B. Hunt, Chief Justice Joseph Branch of the North Carolina Supreme Court, and Chief Justice Naomi Morris of the North Carolina Court of Appeals.

Building upon the dedication theme, "Contributions of the Warren Court to Equal Protection," each speaker in the program selected a particular member of the Warren Court and discussed that Justice's contributions to equal protection law. The speakers submitted their manuscripts for publication in this volume of the North Carolina Central Law Journal, and the articles appear in the same order as presented in the lecture program.

Unfortunately, the author of the forum presentation on Justice Thurgood Marshall elected not to submit his paper for publication. Justices Felix Frankfurter and Hugo Black were not selected for discussion in the lecture series, primarily because their major contributions while on the Court did not concern the interpretation of the equal protection clause.

^{*} Jimmy D. Sharpe & Jo Hill Dobbins