

# Michael Damian Thomas '92

Michael Damian Thomas is a two time Hugo and Parsec Award winning co-publisher and co-editor-in-chief of *Uncanny Magazine* with his wife Lynne Thomas. In this role, he has twice been a finalist for the World Fantasy Award as well as a finalist for a Locus Award. Michael was a two-time Hugo Award finalist as the former managing editor of *Apex Magazine*, co-edited the Hugo Award finalist essay anthology *Queers Dig Time Lords* and co-edited the anthology *Glitter* & *Mayhem*. He has worked as an associate editor on numerous books and a frequent contributor to SFF podcasts.

# Princess Imoukhuede, PhD '98

Dr. Imoukhuede's award-winning research at the University of Illinois focuses on how the body controls blood vessel formation with the goal of developing treatments for more than 70 diseases, including breast cancer and cardiovascular disease. She is Assistant Professor in Bioengineering at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Dr. Imoukhuede earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemical Engineering from Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a PhD in Bioengineering from California Institute of Technology.

## Aaron Parness, PhD '00

Dr. Parness is Group Leader, Extreme Environments Robots at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory where iterative design principles and rapid prototyping are embraced to quickly invent and develop robotic systems for mobility and manipulation. Dr. Parness earned a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering and Creative Writing from Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a PhD in Mechanical Engineering from Stanford University. Alumni Awards Assembly May 25, 2018 Main Gym 1:15 - 2:00 pm

#### Welcome

Introduction of Titan Award Winner

**Titan Award Winner** 

Introduction of Distinguished Leadership Award Winner

Distinguished Leadership Award Winner

Introduction of Distinguished Leadership Award Winner

Distinguished Leadership Award Winner

**Closing Remarks** 

Dr. José Torres President

Tracy Townsend English Faculty

## **Michael Damian Thomas**

Dr. José Torres President

### Princess Imoukhuede, PhD

Janice Krouse, ED Mathematics Faculty

### Aaron Parness, PhD

Dr. José Torres President

