Contributors

SIGLIND BRUHN, born in Hamburg, Germany and with a PhD from the University of Vienna, Austria, is a musicologist, concert pianist, and interdisciplinary scholar. Since 1993 she has been affiliated with the University of Michigan's Institute for the Humanities as a full-time researcher; in addition, she currently serves a five-year term as *chercheur invité* at the Sorbonne's Institut d'esthétique des arts contemporains. She co-edits Pendragon Press's book series *Interplay: Music in Interdisciplinary Dialogue* and has authored more than twenty book-length monographs, primarily in the field of 20th century music and its relationship to literature, art, and religion — most recently, a book trilogy on Olivier Messiaen's musico-symbolic language. She is an elected member of the European Academy of Arts and Sciences and holds an honorary doctorate from Växjö University, Sweden.

GERNOT BÖHME was Professor of Philosophy at Technische Universität Darmstadt from 1977 to 2002 and has since 2002 been Director of Institut für Praxis der Philosophie in Darmstadt. His authored books include Für eine ökologische Naturästhetik (1989), Atmosphäre: Essays zur neuen Ästhetik (1995), Kants Kritik der Urteilskraft in neuer Sicht (1999), Theorie des Bildes (1999), Aisthetik: Vorlesungen über Ästhetik als allgemeine Wahrnehmungslehre (2001), Architektur und Atmosphäre (2006).

SAARA HACKLIN is a doctoral candidate at the University of Helsinki. She works on a PhD thesis in the field of aesthetics. Her thesis discusses Maurice Merleau-Ponty's conception of art, read against case studies of contemporary works of art.

MORTEN KYNDRUP is Professor of Aesthetics and Culture at the University of Aarhus. His publications include Æstetik og litteratur (1982), Det postmoderne (1986), Framing and Fiction (1992), Riften og Sløret (1998), and Den æstetiske relation (2008).

KARLHEINZ LÜDEKING is Professor of Art History at the Universität der Künste in Berlin. He is the author of *Analytische Philosophie der Kunst* (1988, second edition 1998) and *Grenzen des Sichtbaren* (2006) as well as the editor of *Clement Greenberg: Die Essenz der Moderne* (1997, second edition 2009). In 1993 he co-founded the *Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ästhetik* and in 2002 he was a Visiting Member at the *Institute for Advanced Study* in Princeton.

CHRISTOPH MENKE is Professor of Practical Philosophy within the Cluster of Excellence "The Formation of Normative Orders" at Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main. From 1999 to 2008, he was Professor of Philosophy at the Universität Potsdam. His authored books include *Die Souveränität der Kunst:* Ästhetische Erfahrung nach Adorno und Derrida (1988; Engl. tr. The Sovereignty of Art: Aesthetic Negativity in Adorno and Derrida, 1998), Tragödie im Sittlichen. Gerechtigkeit und Freiheit nach Hegel (1996), Die Gegenwart der Tragödie. Versuch über Urteil und Spiel (2005; Engl. tr. Tragic Play: Irony and Theater from Sophocles to Beckett, 2009), and Kraft. Ein Grundbegriff ästhetischer Anthropologie (2008).

RISTO PITKÄNEN, PhD, is docent in aesthetics at the University of Helsinki. He has published an analytical study of the concept of pictorial representation, edited a collection of essays on art research, contributed chapters to books and published articles on a wide range of topics from analytical aesthetics to history of aesthetics and evolutionary approaches to aesthetics.

KALLE PUOLAKKA is a postdoctoral researcher of aesthetics at the Department of Philosophy, History, Culture, and Art Studies, University of Helsinki. He received his PhD from the University of Helsinki in 2009 with a thesis entitled *Reconsidering Relativism and Intentionalism in Interpretation. Donald Davidson, Hermeneutics, and Pragmatism.* He has published articles on philosophy of art and aesthetics in journals such as *Philosophia, SATS – Nordic Journal of Philosophy*, and *Contemporary Aesthetics*.

SVEN-OLOV WALLENSTEIN teaches philosophy and aesthetics at Södertörn University, and is the editor-in-chief of *Site*. He is the translator of works by Winckelmann, Kant, Hegel, Frege, Husserl, Heidegger, Levinas, Derrida, Deleuze, and Agamben, and the author of numerous books on contemporary philosophy, art, and architecture. Recent publications include *Essays, Lectures* (2007), *The Silences of Mies* (2008), and *Biopolitics and the Emergence of Modern Architecture* (2009).