Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Performance Collection All Performances

Winter 12-7-2010

Marshall University Music Department Presents the Marshall University Symphonic Band, Dr. Ben F. Miller, conductor, Matt Chaffins, graduate student conductor

Ben Miller Marshall University, millerb@marshall.edu

Matt Chaffins Marshall University

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/music perf



Our Part of the Fine Arts Commons, and the Music Performance Commons

Recommended Citation

Miller, Ben and Chaffins, Matt, "Marshall University Music Department Presents the Marshall University Symphonic Band, Dr. Ben F. Miller, conductor, Matt Chaffins, graduate student conductor" (2010). All Performances. Book 456. http://mds.marshall.edu/music perf/456

This Recital is brought to you for free and open access by the Performance Collection at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in All Performances by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangi@marshall.edu.



DEPARTMENT of MUSIC

Program

The Hexagon Fanfare

John Fannin

Courtly Airs and Dances

Ron Nelson

1149 2 1413 4114 12411

I. Intrada

II. Basse Danse

III. Saltarello

IV. Allemande

Choreography

Robert Sheldon

Matt Chaffins, graduate student conductor

The Klaxon March

Henry Fillmore

edited by Frederick Fennell

Quintology: The Science of Five

Gary D. Ziek

Our Yesterdays Lengthen Like Shadows

Samuel R. Hazo

Farandole from L'Arlésienne Suite No. 2

Georges Bizet

arranged by Larry Daehn

It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Edward Pola and George Wyle arranged by Chris Sharp

presents the

Marshall University Symphonic Band

Dr. Ben F. Miller, conductor Matt Chaffins, graduate student conductor

Tuesday December 7, 2010 Smith Recital Hall 8:00 p.m.

This program is presented by the College of Fine Arts through the Department of Music, with the support of student activity funds. For more information about this or other music events, please call (304) 696-3117, or view our website at www.marshall.edu/cofa/music.

Personnel

Piccolo Sean Reed

Flutes
Sean Reed
Hillary Herold
Kayla Ariyan
Becky Wyant
Amanda Easthom
Hannah Bott
Crystal Nadi
Shelby Ard

Clarinets
Rachel Wyant
Sara Price
Scott Nibert
Christa Blake
Caren Blake
Kathryn Greer
Jessica Roberts

<u>Bass Clarinet</u> Katelyn Bullock

Alto Saxophones
Robert Galloway
Callum Robertson
Christian Rudloff
David Mills
Shawna Hatten

<u>Tenor</u> <u>Saxophones</u> Ryan T. Wolfe Ariel Orellana

<u>Baritone</u> <u>Saxophones</u> Josh Corder Jonathan Thorne

Trumpets
David Osborne
Eddie Short
Daniel Ricks
Alec Hunt
Kyle Rainey
Christopher Powers
Matt Chaffins

<u>Horns</u> Matt Kelly Courtney Brown Sadie Grindstaff

Electric Bass Danny Holderby Trombones
Timothy Huffman
Alex Conn
SarahEllen Dillon
Jarrod Bostic
Arnold Rispress

Euphoniums
Danny Holderby
Christopher Stuart
Shirelle Yuhase Jarvis

Tubas
Peter Gallus
Jordan Henry
Nicholas Hartley
Andretti Sampson
Scottie Mullens

Percussion
Amanda Young
Sean McCallister
Ross Patrick
Chris Grizzell
Keith Bailey
Daniel Beahm
Jacob Hoskins
Alex Oliver
Christen Burke
Mercedes Roten
Derek Staley
Henry Cloutier
Marcus Greene
Colten Settle

†††

The Marshall University Department of Music is grateful for the support of many families and individuals who help make our department strong and vibrant.

If you would like to support the Department of Music through a donation and assist with student scholarships, academic travel for students and ensembles, or general support of the department please contact:

Melanie Griffis, Director of Development College of Fine Arts SH 161/304-696-3686 griffism@marshall.edu