#### Maurer School of Law: Indiana University Digital Repository @ Maurer Law

Hannah Buxbaum (2011-2013 Interim)

Law School Interim/Acting Deans

2-2014

## Greetings from the Office of the Dean

Hannah L. Buxbaum Indiana University Maurer School of Law

Follow this and additional works at: http://www.repository.law.indiana.edu/buxbaum Part of the Legal Biography Commons, Legal Education Commons, and the Legal Profession <u>Commons</u>

#### **Recommended** Citation

Buxbaum, Hannah L., "Greetings from the Office of the Dean" (2014). *Hannah Buxbaum* (2011-2013 Interim). Paper 9. http://www.repository.law.indiana.edu/buxbaum/9

This Writing by Dean Hannah Buxbaum is brought to you for free and open access by the Law School Interim/Acting Deans at Digital Repository @ Maurer Law. It has been accepted for inclusion in Hannah Buxbaum (2011-2013 Interim) by an authorized administrator of Digital Repository @ Maurer Law. For more information, please contact wattn@indiana.edu.



# { greetings } from the office of the dean



## DEAR ALUMNI AND FRIENDS:

As we reflect on 2013, we look back with a sense of accomplishment and look forward with great anticipation, as we welcome a new dean to the IU Maurer School of Law.

Many of you already know that Austen L. Parrish joined us as Dean and James H. Rudy Professor of Law on January 1, 2014. I have known Austen for several years, first as a fellow researcher in shared areas of interest and later as a colleague in administration. He is a gifted administrator and an outstanding scholar, and was a strong and effective leader at Southwestern Law School. His energy, creativity and dedication to improving legal education are exactly what we were looking for in our next dean. Please join me in welcoming him to our School, and in extending my thanks to the very capable search committee who recommended his appointment to Provost Lauren Robel.

As always, the success of the Law School - in the past and going forward depends on your generous support, and we are very grateful for it. For the year ended June 30, 2013, your gifts to the Law School totaled \$3,776,000, compared with \$2,953,000, a 28 percent increase. Gifts to the Law School's annual fund, the Fund for Excellence, grew 13 percent over 2012, from \$1,050,000 to \$1,184,416, and the average Fund for Excellence gift increased 30 percent over last year.

Your gifts to the Law School support a variety of programs, but the most important of all is the funding that goes to scholarships. Annual tuition is now more than \$29,000 per year (nearly \$48,000 for out-of-state students), and we are committed to providing scholarship support for as many students as possible. Thanks to your generosity, 93 percent of our students receive some form of scholarship assistance. In the past five years, annual scholarship grants have grown from \$6.7 million to more than \$14 million this year.

Just as important to our success has been your ongoing investment of time and expertise in helping our students become more proficient professionals. Nearly 1,000 friends of the school volunteered their time in 2013, serving as moot court judges, acting as mentors and speaking to first-year students about career options. You will find a complete listing of all donors and volunteers to the Law School in this issue of ergo.

It has been a privilege to serve as your interim dean during the past two years. This opportunity gave me the pleasure of meeting so many alumni and friends of the school whom I wouldn't have met otherwise. I am deeply grateful for your support, and look forward to returning to full-time teaching and research under Dean Parrish's capable leadership.

famality .

INTERIM DEAN AND JOHN E. SCHILLER CHAIR IN LEGAL ETHICS

### A CONTINUING TRADITION OF EXCELLENCE

Austen Parrish's appointment as dean continues a tradition of excellence that dates back to the school's founding in 1842. Here is a list of his predecessors:

HANNAH L. BUXBAUM (INTERIM DEAN)	12-2013	LEON H. WALLACE	952-1966
LAUREN K. ROBEL	03-2012	LEON H. WALLACE (ACTING DEAN) 1	951-1952
LAUREN K. ROBEL (ACTING DEAN)	)2-2002	BERNARD C. GAVIT	943-1951
ALFRED C. AMAN, JR	91-2001	HUGH WILLIS (ACTING DEAN) 1	942-1943
TERRY A. BETHEL (ACTING DEAN)	90-1991	BERNARD C. GAVIT	933-1942
BRYANT G. GARTH	87-1990	WILLIAM LOWE BRYAN (ACTING DEAN)	933-1933
BRYANT G. GARTH (ACTING DEAN)	86-1987 I	PAUL V. MCNUTT	925-1933
MAURICE J. HOLLAND (ACTING DEAN)	86-1986 (	CHARLES M. HEPBURN	918-1925
MORRIS S. ARNOLD	85-1985 I	ENOCH G. HOGATE	906-1918
MAURICE J. HOLLAND (ACTING DEAN)	84-1985	GEORGE L. REINHARD	902-1906
S. JAY PLAGER		WILLIAM PERRY ROGERS	
VAL NOLAN, JR. (ACTING DEAN)		DAVID D. BANTA	
S. JAY PLAGER	77-1980	HON. BASKIN E. RHOADS	1872-1877
HARRY PRATTER (ACTING DEAN)	76-1977	HON. SAMUEL E. PERKINS	870-1872
VAL NOLAN, JR. (ACTING DEAN)	76-1976	HON. GEORGE A. BICKNELL	1861-1870
DOUGLASS G. BOSHKOFF	72-1975	HON. JAMES R.M. BRYANT	857-1861
DOUGLASS G. BOSHKOFF (ACTING DEAN)	71-1972	HON. JAMES HUGHES	853-1857
WILLIAM B. HARVEY	66-1971	HON. DAVID MCDONALD1	842-1853