## Maurer School of Law: Indiana University Digital Repository @ Maurer Law

Hannah Buxbaum (2011-2013 Interim)

Law School Interim/Acting Deans

8-30-2012

### Search Committee Seeks to Appoint New Law Dean

Michelle Soko Indiana Daily Student

Follow this and additional works at: http://www.repository.law.indiana.edu/buxbaum

Part of the <u>Legal Biography Commons</u>, <u>Legal Education Commons</u>, and the <u>Legal Profession</u>
Commons

#### Recommended Citation

Soko, Michelle, "Search Committee Seeks to Appoint New Law Dean" (2012). *Hannah Buxbaum* (2011-2013 Interim). Paper 2. http://www.repository.law.indiana.edu/buxbaum/2

This Misc. Materials related to Dean Hannah Buxbaum is brought to you for free and open access by the Law School Interim/Acting Deans at Digital Repository @ Maurer Law. It has been accepted for inclusion in Hannah Buxbaum (2011-2013 Interim) by an authorized administrator of Digital Repository @ Maurer Law. For more information, please contact wattn@indiana.edu.



# Search committee seeks to appoint new law dean

#### FROM IDS REPORTS

A committee has formed to begin the nationwide search for candidates for the position of dean of the IU Maurer School of Law.

The position was vacated in February when former Dean Lauren Robel accepted the position of provost and executive vice president for the University.

Hannah Buxbaum, the law school's associate dean for academic affairs, is currently serving as the interim dean.

The search committee will begin meeting this fall.

They hope to select finalists by next spring.

Robel will ultimately appoint the new dean, whose tenure is likely to begin with the 2013-14 academic year.

The school is currently

focused on building a curriculum that helps students develop a complete set of professional abilities.

The search committee is seeking a dean who will value analytical skills, interpersonal abilities and cultural competencies in the curriculum — skills required of lawyers in today's job market.

Kelley School of Business professor of entrepreneurship Patricia McDougall-Covin will chair the committee.

"I'm delighted that Professor McDougall-Covin has agreed to chair this search and that such an accomplished and committed group of faculty, staff, students and alumni have agreed to serve on the committee," Robel said in a press release.

Other members of the

search committee are Amy Applegate, Kevin Brown, Linda Fariss, Joseph Hoffmann, Mark Janis, Jay Krishnan, Ajay Mehrotra, Christiana Ochoa, Jeffrey Stake, Deborah Widiss, Andrea Havill, Dean Regenovich, Kellie Rockel, Michael Flannery, Lisa McKinney and Judge John Tinder.

The members bring together a wide range of expertise, from family mediation to global law and alumni relations.

"I am confident that they will secure strong leadership to continue the Maurer School of Law's rich history of excellence and incredible forward momentum," Robel said.

- Michelle Sokol