Maurer School of Law: Indiana University Digital Repository @ Maurer Law

Indiana Law Journal

Volume 19 | Issue 1 Article 5

Fall 1943

Indiana State Bar Association Program

Carl M. Gray Indiana State Bar Association

Follow this and additional works at: http://www.repository.law.indiana.edu/ilj



Part of the Legal Profession Commons

Recommended Citation

Gray, Carl M. (1943) "Indiana State Bar Association Program," Indiana Law Journal: Vol. 19: Iss. 1, Article 5. Available at: http://www.repository.law.indiana.edu/ilj/vol19/iss1/5

This Special Feature is brought to you for free and open access by the Law School Journals at Digital Repository @ Maurer Law. It has been accepted for inclusion in Indiana Law Journal by an authorized administrator of Digital Repository @ Maurer Law. For more information, please contact wattn@indiana.edu.



NEW BAR PROGRAM

INDIANA STATE BAR ASSOCIATION PROGRAM

Carl M. Gray*



It is the purpose of the Indiana State Bar Association, during this administration, to inaugurate a program which will be beneficial to the lawyers, in this State.

With this purpose in mind, at a meeting of the Board of Managers on September 4, 1943, the President submitted a proposal to organize Sections in the State Bar Association similar to the Sections of the American Bar Association. The Board of Managers adopted a resolution approving the creation of the following sections: Criminal Law, Insurance, Judicial, Property and Taxation, and Utilities. Committees have been appointed to organize the various Sections.

The Board approved a recommendation that Committee reports be printed and distributed in advance of the meetings of the Association, and unless objections are filed to a Committee Report, or unless an official of the Association objects to the Committee Report, the reports will be automat-

^{*} President, the Indiana State Bar Association.

ically approved without being read and approved at the meeting. If any member desires to file objections to the Committee Report, written objections may be filed five days before the meeting of the Association. The filing of the objections will then bring the Committee Report to the attention of the Association for its action.

The Mid-Winter Meeting will be held January 7th and 8th at the Claypool Hotel in Indianapolis. January 7th and the morning of January 8th will be devoted to clinics.

The Criminal Law Section will conduct a clinic on the new proposed Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure. The purpose of this clinic is to determine whether or not the proposed Federal Rules should be adopted in Indiana by the Supreme Court to take the place of the present Criminal Practice Code. Experienced trial lawyers will participate in the discussion.

The Special Committee on Juvenile Delinquency will submit its report, recommending amendments to the Juvenile Act, and also recommending changes in procedure affecting juveniles. Members of the bench and Bar, who have had wide experience in this practice, will discuss the proposed changes.

The Property and Taxation Section will conduct a practical Federal Taxation clinic.

The other Sections will prepare practical programs.

The officials of the Association are attempting to cause the Association to function for the benefit of the Bar. This program will fail unless the members of the Bar cooperate with us in order that we may accomplish something beneficial to the legal profession.

The following Committees have been selected to assist in the administration of the affairs of the Association this year:—

COMMITTEE TO FORM JUDICIAL SECTION

William Fitzgerald, Evansville, Chairman, Former Judge of Vanderburg Court

Eldo W. Wood, Huntingburg, Judge of the Dubois Circuit Court

Frank N. Richman, Indianapolis, Judge Supreme Court Wilbur Royce, Indianapolis, Judge of the Appellate Court Frank B. Russell, Tipton, Judge of the Tipton Circuit Court

H. Nathan Swaim, Indianapolis, Judge of Supreme Court Clyde R. Lottick, Corydon, Judge of the Harrison Circuit Court

Harry Crumpacker, Indianapolis, Judge of the Appellate Court

Chase Harding, Crawfordsville

Leonard Marshall, Terre Haute

Edwin Steers, Indianapolis

Emsley W. Johnson, Jr., Indianapolis, Judge of the Superior Court

COMMITTEE TO FORM CRIMINAL LAW SECTION

B. Howard Caughran, Indianapolis, Chairman, U. S. District Attorney

Charles W. Gannon, Gary, Prosecuting Attorney Alexander M. Campbell, Fort Wayne, U. S. District Attorney

James Emmert, Indianapolis, Attorney General Paul P. Boyle, Sullivan, President Prosecuting Attorney's Association

Rexal A. Boyd, Greencastle, Prosecuting Attorney Ottis L. Sturbois, Vincennes, Prosecuting Attorney Jack E. Hayes, Washington, Prosecuting Attorney Arthur F. Scheer, South Bend, Prosecuting Attorney Charles B. Kemmer, Lafayette, Prosecuting Attorney John O. Moomaw, Bloomfield, Prosecuting Attorney Earl W. Kintner, Princeton, Prosecuting Attorney Frederick Hanna, Logansport, Prosecuting Attorney

COMMITTEE TO FORM PROPERTY & TAXATION SECTION

Frank C. Olive, Chairman, Indianapolis Paul H. Schmidt, Evansville William S. McFall, Jasper James J. Lewis, Vincennes J. Olias Vanier, Sullivan Woodson S. Carlisle, South Bend Paul R. Shafer, Terre Haute Floyd E. Harper, Tipton

COMMITTEE TO FORM UTILITY SECTION

Harvey W. Garrett, Princeton
Russell P. Harker, Frankfort, Chairman
Albert H. Cole, Peru
John S. Taylor, Sullivan
Phelps Darby, Evansville
Joseph Kimmell, Vincennes
William E. Evans, Indianapolis
Phil M. McNagney, Fort Wayne
Joseph J. Daniels, Indianapolis
Bert Beasley, Indianapolis
Homer B. Aikman, Terre Haute
Robert R. Batton, Marion

COMMITTEE TO FORM INSURANCE SECTION

Hubert Hickam, Chairman, Indianapolis
Ed J. Coleman, Indianapolis
Isador Fine, Evansville
Robert A. Adams, Indianapolis
Frank J. Crawford, Terre Haute
Harold P. Tuberty, Logansport
Wade H. Free, Anderson
Lee M. Bowers, Huntington
Clarence F. Merrell, Indianapolis
Emmett S. Huggins, Indianapolis