Proceedings of the 16th UniServe Science Annual Conference, 2010

PREFACE

Dr Alexandra Hugman has changed careers and will not join us in 2010. We wish her the best in the new direction she is pursuing. We continue her vision of including science and mathematics teacher educators in the Uniserve Science Conference. We look forward to the continued presence of Associate Professors Mary Peat and Ian Johnston.

With this year's Proceedings we begin a new tradition: that of Open Source publishing. Furthermore, the submission, reviewing and publication processes have all been handled by an online system. We would like to thank all involved for their patience as we have worked through teething problems. The system allows incredible benefits in terms of tracking and we look forward to a smoother flow in 2011.

A series of papers from the 2009 UniServe Science Conference have been published in the International Journal of Innovation in Science and Mathematics Education (IJISME) http://escholarship.usyd.edu.au/journals/index.php/CAL. We invite authors and all attendees to seriously consider publishing their work with IJISME.

This Proceeding owes its existence to the Editorial and Review Panel listed below who volunteer their own time and expertise to help improve the quality of the publication.

EDITORIAL AND REVIEW PANEL

Professor Simon Bates The University of Edinburgh

Ms Karen Burke da Silva Flinders University

Dr Carmel Coady University of Western Sydney Associate Professor Jacquelyn Cranney The University of NSW

Associate Professor Gareth Denyer
Dr Greg Dicinoski

The University of Sydney
University of Tasmania

Dr Paul Francis The Australian National University

Dr Sue Gordon The University of Sydney
Associate Professor Thomas Hubble The University of Sydney

Dr Alexandra Hugman Northern Beaches Christian School

Professor Michael Jacobson The University of Sydney Associate Professor Ian D. Johnston The University of Sydney Professor Susan M. Jones University of Tasmania Dr Paula M. Myatt The University of Queensland Dr Glennys A. O'Brien University of Wollongong Dr Steve Provost Southern Cross University Professor John W. Rice The University of Sydney Mr Ian Sefton The University of Sydney

Dr Margaret Wegener The University of Queensland
Dr Anna Wilson The Australian National University

Dr Theresa Winchester-Seeto Macquarie University

The Proceedings of the 16th UniServe Science Conference contains three types of papers.

Full Refereed Papers which have been peer reviewed by two independent experts and satisfy the Australian DEST E1 category.

Full Written Papers (non-refereed) which have been subject to editorial assessment and satisfy the Australian DEST E2 category.

Abstracts (extract of paper) which have been subject to editorial assessment and satisfy the Australian DEST E3 category.

We look forward to seeing you at the 16th UniServe Science Conference.

Editor-in-Chief

Associate Professor Manjula Sharma