

Missouri University of Science and Technology Scholars' Mine

Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering Faculty Research & Creative Works Civil, Architectural and Environmental **Engineering**

01 Apr 2015

Preface

William P. Schonberg Missouri University of Science and Technology, wschon@mst.edu

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarsmine.mst.edu/civarc_enveng_facwork



Part of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Commons

Recommended Citation

W. P. Schonberg, "Preface," Proceedings of the 2015 Hypervelocity Impact Symposium (2015, Boulder, CO), vol. 103, pp. 1-3, Elsevier, Apr 2015.

The definitive version is available at https://doi.org/10.1016/j.proeng.2015.04.001



This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 4.0 License.

This Remarks is brought to you for free and open access by Scholars' Mine. It has been accepted for inclusion in Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering Faculty Research & Creative Works by an authorized administrator of Scholars' Mine. This work is protected by U. S. Copyright Law. Unauthorized use including reproduction for redistribution requires the permission of the copyright holder. For more information, please contact scholarsmine@mst.edu.



Available online at www.sciencedirect.com

ScienceDirect

Procedia Engineering

Procedia Engineering 103 (2015) 1 – 3

www.elsevier.com/locate/procedia

Preface



This volume contains the papers presented at the 2015 Hypervelocity Impact Symposium (HVIS 2015) held in Boulder, Colorado, April 27-30, on behalf of the Hypervelocity Impact Society. This was the thirteenth symposium since the re-initiation of the symposia in 1986; the proceedings for the previous symposia are published as Volumes 5, 10, 14, 17, 20, 23, 26, 29, and 33, of the *International Journal of Impact Engineering*. The 11th symposium, in Freiberg 2010, split the papers between the Volume 38 of the *International Journal of Impact Engineering* and a proceedings published by the Fraunhofer Ernst Mach Institute, while the proceedings of the 12th symposium appeared as Volume 58 of *Procedia Engineering*. The 86 papers in this volume address advancements in the basic understanding of hypervelocity impact physics, related phenomenology, and engineering applications.

Each paper in this volume has undergone peer review by at least two members of the technical committee experts in their respective fields of research. Appreciation is forwarded to those who served on the technical committee for reviewing the papers, providing constructive critical comments to the authors, and assisting the technical chairs with building the symposium agenda. The authors are to be commended for keeping to the schedule by providing their draft manuscripts for review, making appropriate modifications and corrections, and preparing their final manuscripts.

The opening keynote address, following the tradition that was started in 1989, was given by the recipient of the Society's Distinguished Scientist Award. Three plenary talks were given by Michael Squire of the NASA Engineering Safety Center (Needs and Trends in Orbital Debris Impact Modeling, Testing, and Technology), Keith Jamison of SAIC (Development of a Diagnostic Technique to Track Magnetized Projectiles in Opaque Media), and William Ailor of the Aerospace Corporation (The Current State of Planetary Defense). In addition, Rusty Schweickart of the B612 Foundation gave a keynote address (Planetary Defense and Recent Efforts in the Discovery of Potentially Hazardous NEOs on an Accelerated Time Scale) as part of the symposium banquet festivities.

A listing of the HVIS 2015 technical committee is given on the following page; their time and dedication greatly assisted in making the symposium a technical success. A special note of thanks to my fellow Symposium Co-Chair Timothy Maclay (*Celestial Insight, Inc.*), to Joel Williamsen (*Institute for Defense Analyses*) and Steve Evans (*NASA Marshall Space Flight Center*), the Technical Program Co-Chairs, and to William Reinhart (*Sandia National Laboratories*), the Symposium Exhibits Chair. The efforts of Tobin Munsat in organizing and hosting a tour of the Dust Accelerator Lab at the University of Colorado are also noted with appreciation. These gentlemen worked diligently to ensure high quality technical and social programs. The Society is also grateful to Michelle Wiginton and Tammy Mace, both from the Missouri University of Science and Technology, who worked tirelessly with us to ensure a smoothly running symposium. The HVIS 2015 organization committee is grateful to the society's board of directors, its committee chairs, and the Army Research Laboratory for their assistance and support in helping to make this symposium a success.

William P. Schonberg

Missouri University of Science and Technology

E-mail address: wschon@mst.edu

HVIS 2015 Symposium Organization

SYMPOSIUM CHAIRS

William Schonberg
Missouri University of Sci & Technology

Timothy Maclay *Celestial Insight, Inc.*

TECHNICAL PROGRAM CHAIRS

Joel Williamsen
Institute for Defense Analyses

Steve Evans
NASA Marshall Space Flight Center

EXHIBITS CHAIR

William Reinhart
Sandia National Laboratories

SYMPOSIUM COORDINATORS

Michelle Wiginton, Coordinator

Missouri University of Sci & Technology

Tammy Mace, Secretary
Missouri University of Sci & Technology

TECHNICAL COMMITTEE

Material Response
Brian Jensen (LANL)
David Stepp (ARL)

Asteroid Impact & Planetary Def Tech Mark Boslough (SNL) Tarabay Antoun (LLNL)

Hypervelocity Phenomenology Studies Roberto DeStephanis (Thales Alenia) Eric Christiansen (NASA/JSC)

Theoretical/Applied Mechanics
Martin Sauer (Ernst Mach Institute)
Tracy Vogler (SNL)

High Velocity Penetration Mechanics William Reinhart (SNL) Tim Holmquist (SwRI)

Spacecraft Protection
William Bohl (LMCO)
Mitsiru Akahoshi (KYUTech)

Analytical and Numerical Methods Joel Williamsen (IDA) Steve Evans (NASA/MSFC)

Fracture and Fragmentation Nitta Kumi (JAXA) Raymond Lemke (SNL)

Armor/Anti-armor Scott Hill (Practical Energetics, Inc.) Ernest Baker (ARL)

High Velocity Launchers / Diagnostics Kevin Poorman (UDRI) Jason Loiseau (McGill University)

HYPERVELOCITY IMPACT SOCIETY

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

David Lambert
Air Force Research Laboratory

Todd Bjerke

Army Research Laboratory

James Walker
Southwest Research Institute

Charles Anderson
Southwest Research Institute

Lalit Chhabildas
Air Force Research Laboratory

David Littlefield University of AL – Birmingham

William Schonberg
Missouri Univ of Sci & Tech

Brett Sorensen Army Research Laboratory

David Dickinson
Naval Surface Warfare Center

Frank Schafer

Ernst Mach Institute

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards Committee

Shannon Ryan

Defence Science and Technology Organisation

Educational Outreach Committee

Ron Brown

Naval Post Graduate School

Membership Committee

Brooke Myers Corbett

Institute for Defense Analyses

Nominations Committee

Sikhanda Satapathy

Army Research Laboratory

Publications Committee

John Borg

Marquette University

Site Selection Committee

Eugene Hertel

Sandia National Laboratory