The Compass: Earth Science Journal of Sigma Gamma Epsilon

Volume 89 | Issue 1 Article 1

4-3-2018

Sigma Gamma Epsilon - News and Information

Tyler Kee University of Arkansas-Little Rock, mtkee@ualr.edu

Erin P. Argyilan Indiana University Northwest, eargyila@iun.edu

James Berglund tug13021@temple.edu

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.csbsju.edu/compass



Part of the Earth Sciences Commons

Recommended Citation

Kee, Tyler; Argyilan, Erin P.; and Berglund, James (2018) "Sigma Gamma Epsilon - News and Information," The Compass: Earth Science Journal of Sigma Gamma Epsilon: Vol. 89: Iss. 1, Article 1. Available at: https://digitalcommons.csbsju.edu/compass/vol89/iss1/1

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by DigitalCommons@CSB/SJU. It has been accepted for inclusion in The Compass: Earth Science Journal of Sigma Gamma Epsilon by an authorized editor of DigitalCommons@CSB/SJU. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@csbsju.edu.

Sigma Gamma Epsilon – News and Information

THE THETA SIGMA CHAPTER OF SIGMA GAMMA EPSILON AT THE UNIVERSITY OF ARKANAS-LITTLE ROCK

Tyler Kee

3101 S. Taylor, Apt # 1232 Little Rock, AR 72204 mtkee@ualr.edu

The Theta Sigma Chapter of Sigma Gamma Epsilon held its installment and first initiation ceremony on 20 October 2017. Present were chapter president Izzy Harville, vice president Jason Simmons, secretary Tyler Kee, treasurer Olivia Pate, historian Rebecca Bishop, public relations officer Mandolin Harris, and the chapter advisor Dr. Joshua Spinler.



Upper Row (l to r): Olivia Pate, Rebecca Bishop, Tyler Kee, Mandolin Harris Bottom Row (l to r): Jason Simmons, Izzy Harville

Chapter secretary, Tyler Kee, led the initiates to Science Laboratory Room 165, where the dark room was lit by candle. Officers gave the advice of some of the early pioneers in the study of Earth Sciences and read from Sigma Gamma Epsilon's Constitution. Included in the initiation was the Chapter's first Associate Member, Dr. Joshua Spinler.



Jason Simmons (l) and Izzy Harville (r) reading the initiation ceremony.



Dr. Joshua Spinler, Chapter Advisor and newly initiated Associate Member.

It is the Chapter's goal to dedicate our time and effort to the betterment of our community. Our next meeting will discuss volunteering in the Campus Garden, whose produce goes towards those in need in the greater Little Rock area.

The establishment of Theta Sigma on the University of Arkansas-Little Rock campus is a monumental one. Some 20 years ago, the Earth Sciences Department was not a degree-granting program, and to see the program move towards establishing its own chapter of Sigma Gamma Epsilon demonstrates much of the hard work, dedication, and passion our faculty, staff, and students, foster through their innate curiosity.

INITIATION OF THE THETA OMICRON CHAPTER OF SIGMA GAMMA EPSILON AT INDIANA UNIVERSITY NORTHWEST

Dr. Erin P. Argyilan Geosciences Department Marram Hall, Room 243 3400 Broadway Gary, Indiana 46408 USA eargyila@iun.edu



Lifetime SGE member Dr. Kristin Huysken is passing out pyrite for the ritual to each of the initiates.



Dr. Huysken is performing the ritual. From left to right: Dr. Erin Argyilan (Chapter Advisor), initiate Benjamin Chase, initiate Cesar Garcia (Secretary-Treasurer), initiate Alec Schassburger, initiate Katie Denver Gurnicz (President), initiate Eric Torness (Vice President), and initiate Jacob Ivers.



Group photo of all the newly initiated members of Theta Omicron. From left to right: Dr. Erin Argyilan (Chapter Advisor), Dr. Zoran Kilibarda (Chair), Benjamin Chase,

INITIATION OF THE THETA RHO CHAPTER OF SIGMA GAMMA EPSILON AT TEMPLE UNIVERSITY

James Berglund

Department of Earth and Environmental Science Temple University Beury Hall, 1901 No. 13th Street Philadelphia, PA 19122 USA tug13021@temple.edu

Eighteen undergraduate and graduate students were initiated into the Theta Rho Chapter of Sigma Gamma Epsilon at Temple University on 6 April 2017.



Initiates(left to right): Gabi Perry, Katrina Korman, Vince Carsillo, Klavdiya Vasylenko, John Mangan, Bailey O'Connell, Tyler Forst, Kassandra Combs, James Berglund (President), Leah Wenhold, Katie Hayes (Secretary), Rebecca Feldman (Vice President), Chelsea Kanaley (Treasurer), Rachel Crowley, Chong Seok Choi, Alex Nawotka. Not pictured: Dr. Atsuhiro Muto (Adviser) and Kelly Devlin.