Short Title: Faculty Representation on the President's Cabinet

**Motion:** The Faculty Senate recommends that the following language be modified and added to the description of the membership of the President's Cabinet in The Faculty Handbook detailed in Section 105.02.

Several of these officers serve on <u>T</u>the President's Cabinet <u>which provides advises the President on issues related to operational decision making</u> including the operating budget. The President's Cabinet is comprised of the following individuals:

- President
- Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
- Vice President for Business and Finance
- Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
- Vice President for Research and Dean of the Jack N. Averitt College of Graduate Studies
- Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management
- Vice President for University Advancement
- Executive Associate to the President
- A Faculty Representative nominated and confirmed by the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate also recommends that the following language be modified and added to Article III, Section 5f of the *Bylaws* of the Faculty Senate detailed in Section 110.04 in The Faculty Handbook.

## **SECTION 5.** The duties of the Senate Executive Committee shall be as follows:

f. nominate one faculty member to serve as the SPC-Faculty Representative to the President's Cabinet who shall serve a one year apprenticeship and a two-year term. The Faculty Representative to the President's Cabinet submits a regular report to the Senate Executive Committee and Senate Librarian. This appointment must be confirmed by a majority vote of the Faculty Senate at the last Senate meeting of the Spring semester;

## Rationale:

At the previous meeting of the Faculty Senate on February 14<sup>th</sup>, 2012, a majority of senators indicated their support for the addition of a faculty representative to the President's Cabinet. This is in accordance with Provost Moore's efforts to decentralize strategic planning and make the process more inclusive.

The American Association of University Professors (A AUP) also recommends that faculty be included in the processes related to the administration of the university, including budgetary and planning discussions and decisions. Specifically, the AAUP states,

The allocation of resources among competing demands is central in the formal responsibility of the governing board, in the administrative authority of the president, and in the educational function of the faculty. Each component should therefore have a voice in the determination of short- and long-range priorities, and each should receive appropriate analyses of past budgetary experience, reports on current budgets and expenditures, and short- and long-range budgetary projections. ...All three groups, the *Statement on Government* makes clear, should participate in long-range planning."

Sources: American Association of University Professors (AAUP), *Policy Documents & Reports*8th ed. (Washington: AAUP, 1995), 195. AAUP, *Statement on Government of Colleges and Universities*, <a href="http://www.aaup.org/AAUP/pubsres/policydocs/contents/governancestatement.htm">http://www.aaup.org/AAUP/pubsres/policydocs/contents/governancestatement.htm</a>.

The motion described above is designed to complement existing policies and procedures. For instance, the election of the Faculty Representative on the President's Cabinet will take place at the same meeting of the Faculty Senate at which the Senate Secretary and Librarian are elected. In addition, the language in the Senate's Bylaws used to describe the now-defunct SPC has been altered to fit this new position on the President's Cabinet.

This motion is submitted and supported by the following faculty members, senators, and members of the Georgia Southern University Chapter of the AAUP.

Kathleen Comerford, AAUP Member

Marc Cyr, Faculty Senate Executive Committee Member and AAUP Member

Robert Costomiris, Senator and AAUP Member

Richard Flynn, AAUP Member

Michelle Haberland, Senator and AAUP Member

Ming Fang He, Senator and AAUP Member

Robert Lake, AAUP Member

Trent Maurer, AAUP Member

Michael Moore, AAUP Member

Frederic Mynard, Faculty Senate Executive Committee Member and AAUP Member

Patrick Novotny, AAUP Member

Sandra Peacock, AAUP Member

Laura Valeri, Senator and AAUP Member

Mark Welford, Senator and AAUP Member

Robert Yarbrough, Senator and AAUP Member