Georgia Southern University

Digital Commons@Georgia Southern

Faculty Senate Index

Faculty Senate Documents

5-23-2012

Reconsider Resolution (Faculty Representation on the President's Cabinet)

Michael Moore Georgia Southern University

Maria Adamos Georgia Southern University

Tony Barilla Georgia Southern University

Robert Batchelor Georgia Southern University

Faraw Roduhd additional works at: https://digitalcommons.georgiasouthern.edu/faculty-senate-index Georgia Southern University

Part of the Higher Education Administration Commons

See next page for additional authors Recommended Citation

Moore, Michael; Adamos, Maria; Barilla, Tony; Batchelor, Robert; Bodur, Yasar; Brown, John; Comerford, Kathleen; Costomiris, Robert; Cyr, Marc D.; Flynn, Richard; Griffin, Julia; Haberland, Michelle; Iacob, Alina; Jenkins, Stephen; Kennerly, Rebecca; Kundu, Gautam; LaMontagne, Maggie; Lesaja, Goran; Lewis, Johanne; LoBue, Jim; Maurer, Trent; McLean, Bruce; Mynard, Frederic; Novotny, Patrick; Nelson, Eric; Ngai, Sze-man; Peacock, Sandy; Pellegrino, Joe; Pirro, Rob; Rea, Dan; Reidel, Michelle; Reichard, Jim; Rich, Fred; Rodell, Paul; Schille, Candy; Sims, Anastatia; Smith, Katy; Steinberg, John; Tysinger, Jeff; Tu, Wei; Villeponteaux, Mary; Walker, Janice; Welford, Mark; Welford, Theresa; Woods, Jamie; and Yarbrough, Rob, "Reconsider Resolution (Faculty Representation on the President's Cabinet)" (2012). *Faculty Senate Index*. 527.

https://digitalcommons.georgiasouthern.edu/faculty-senate-index/527

This motion request is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate Documents at Digital Commons@Georgia Southern. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Index by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons@Georgia Southern. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@georgiasouthern.edu.

Submitted By

Michael Moore, Maria Adamos, Tony Barilla, Robert Batchelor, Yasar Bodur, John Brown, Kathleen Comerford, Robert Costomiris, Marc D. Cyr, Richard Flynn, Julia Griffin, Michelle Haberland, Alina Iacob, Stephen Jenkins, Rebecca Kennerly, Gautam Kundu, Maggie LaMontagne, Goran Lesaja, Johanne Lewis, Jim LoBue, Trent Maurer, Bruce McLean, Frederic Mynard, Patrick Novotny, Eric Nelson, Sze-man Ngai, Sandy Peacock, Joe Pellegrino, Rob Pirro, Dan Rea, Michelle Reidel, Jim Reichard, Fred Rich, Paul Rodell, Candy Schille, Anastatia Sims, Katy Smith, John Steinberg, Jeff Tysinger, Wei Tu, Mary Villeponteaux, Janice Walker, Mark Welford, Theresa Welford, Jamie Woods, and Rob Yarbrough

Approved by the Senate:
Not Approved by the Senate:
Approved by the President:
Not Approved by the President:

Reconsider Resolution

Submitted by: Michael Moore

5/23/2012

Motion:

Whereas, representatives of the Georgia Southern University faculty are disappointed with President Keel's decision to overturn the unanimous vote of this Faculty Senate that an elected faculty member sit on the President's Council, we implore the President to reconsider his decision.

Rationale:

With the elimination of the Strategic Planning Committee, not only is the university in violation of Board of Regents Policy Manual Section 2.9 that "Each institution shall have a strategic planning process that maintains a current strategic plan in which institutional priorities are defined and through which the institution's mission is carried out in accordance with the strategic directions and guiding principles established by the Board of Regents. The faculty and staff of each institution shall be involved in developing the planning process and shall be included in the structure by which the plan is implemented," but also Georgia Southern University's Faculty Handbook Section 111.03. Both conform with faculty expectations for involvement in faculty governance as articulated in the Faculty Handbook Section 110.1. Additionally, the Provost's assertion that he represents the faculty on the President's Cabinet denies the authority of the Faculty Senate, the only representative and democratically-elected voice for faculty, to represent the faculty. At this time there is no faculty involvement in overall university strategic/comprehensive planning. We recognize that faculty serve on a number of committees initiated by the Provost that consider overall planning under the current structures, but faculty are not represented in the development of the planning process.

This motion is submitted by the following Georgia Southern faculty: Maria Adamos, Tony Barilla, Robert Batchelor, Yasar Bodur, John Brown, Kathleen Comerford, Robert Costomiris, Marc Cyr, Richard Flynn, Julia Griffin, Michelle Haberland, Alina Iacob, Stephen Jenkins, Rebecca Kennerly, Gautam Kundu, Maggie LeMontagne, Goran Lesaja, Johanne Lewis, Jim Lobue, Trent Maurer, Bruce McLean, Michael Moore, Frederic Mynard, Patrick Novotny, Eric Nelson, Sze-Man Ngai, Sandy Peacock, Joe Pellegrino, Rob Pirro, Dan Rea, Michelle Reidel, Jim Reichard, Fred Rich, Paul Rodell, Candy Schille, Anastasia Sims, Katy Smith, John Steinberg, Jeff Tysinger, Wei Tu, Mary Villeponteaux, Janice Walker, Mark Welford, Theresa Welford, Jamie Woods, Rob Yarbrough

SEC Response:

5/29/2012: The SEC declined to include this motion on the agenda of the June 6 meeting.

See Faculty Representation on the President's Cabinet for more details.