HONORS PROGRAM COMMITTEE MINUTES APRIL 15, 1994 3:00 p.m.

Members Present

Kevin Kefgen, Sophomore Representative Mac Luckey, Director and Chairman Paul Taylor, Assistant Professor of Music Alban Wheeler, Professor of Sociology Todd Wilson, Junior Representative Lenore Womack, Senior Representative

<u>Agenda</u>

- I. Approval of Minutes
 - * The minutes of the March 18, 1994 meeting were presented. Kevin Kefgen made a motion to approve the minutes. Todd Wilson seconded the motion. The motion was approved.

II. Student Reports

- * The 1994 Southern Regional Honors Conference was held April 7-9 in Louisville. Students from Morehead presented their work at 12 of the 50 sessions held during the conference. All the presentations were well received.
- Proposals for the National Collegiate Honors Conference will be sent in the week of April 19. As of now, Jo Jennings has received 6 proposals. Over 20 students have expressed interest in going to the conference, which will be held in San Antonio, Texas in October.
- * A Movie Night sponsored by the Honors Association has been scheduled for April 22 in the basement of Fields Hall. Also, students who are interested may travel with Jason Griffey to Carter Caves on April 23 and tour various caves.

III. Secretary's Report

* 8 Honors Scholarships will be available to upperclass students for the fall. 1 sophomore, 3 junior, and 5 senior slots are open. The committee selected the recipients by going through a process of selection based upon each applicant's writing sample, academic record, and their involvement in other organizations. Those selected were:

Academic Honors Program Committee Minutes April 15, 1994 Page 2

Nina Beimesch, sophomore scholarship recipient Valetta Hardwick, junior scholarship recipient (1 year only) Melinda Rawlings, junior scholarship recipient Geraldine Carter, senior scholarship recipient (1 year only) Amy Claxon, senior scholarship recipient (1 year only) Kyle Howard, senior scholarship recipient (1 year only) Stephanie Rolfsen, senior scholarship recipient (1 year only) Mike Rudy, senior scholarship recipient (1 year only)

Valetta Hardwick, Geraldine Carter, Amy Claxon, Kyle Howard, Stephanie Rolfsen, and Mike Rudy must reapply in the spring of 1995 for any available openings for the 1995-96 academic year.

IV. Director's Report

Tammy Utchek's honors thesis has been submitted to the Honors Program Committee for approval. She worked with Dr. Charles Morgan on the project, which she has asked to submit in lieu of a final honors seminar. Paul Taylor moved to accept Tammy Utchek's thesis as submitted. Todd Wilson seconded the motion. The motion was approved.

The last meeting of the semester is scheduled for May 18 at 9:00 a.m.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

more Warrack

J. Lenore Womack, Secretary