International Legal Developments Year in Review: 2014

CINDY GALWAY BUYS, KIM D. CHANBONPIN, AND MARK E. WOJCIK*

This volume surveys important political and legal developments in international law during the year 2014. It compiles reports from various committees of the American Bar Association Section of International Law, whose members span the globe and whose committees monitor the full range of topics that arise in international law. Even a volume of this size cannot include every development, however, and the omission of a particular development should not be construed as meaning that it was not significant. Our committees work under extremely strict guidelines that limit the number of words that each committee has to roughly 7,000 words, including footnotes. Within these constraints, committee members contribute portions of articles that describe the most significant developments in that substantive practice area or geographic region. In some cases, non-section members who have particular knowledge or expertise in an area may also be contributing authors.

Committee chairs and committee editors solicited the contributing authors for each article. The heroic committee editors kept the collective contributions within our admittedly unreasonable word limits. They made difficult decisions on what to include, what to cut, and what to hope some other committee included. Committee editors are identified in each article. After the committee editors did their work, it went to an amazing team of Deputy Editors who reviewed articles as they were sent to us. Then we, as overall coeditors for this volume, reviewed the articles again before sending them to the brave student editors at the Dedman School of Law at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas. Mai Tran was the Editor-in-Chief of The International Lawyer this year and Ben Stephens served as the Managing Editor. They supervised an outstanding editorial team whose individual names you can read in the masthead for this volume. These brave students checked the sources cited and reviewed each article line by line and word by word, fearing no corner of the Bluebook. Professor Beverly Caro Duréus served again this year as the Faculty Executive Editor for the Year in Review Volume, working closely with us

^{*} Professor Cindy Galway Buys teaches at Southern Illinois University School of Law in Carbondale, Illinois. Professors Kim D. Chanbonpin and Mark E. Wojcik teach at The John Marshall Law School in Chicago. Professor Wojcik is also an adjunct professor at the Facultad Libre de Derecho de Monterrey (Mexico) and at the University of Lucerne Faculty of Law (Switzerland). They served as the overall coeditors for the 2012, 2013, and 2014 editions of the International Law Year in Review.

2 THE YEAR IN REVIEW

and with the student editors. We also appreciate the support received from all of the Division Chairs and other leaders of the ABA Section of International Law.

Because of all the work that goes into producing this volume, the final product that you hold in your hands (or that you are viewing electronically) is a useful and reliable overview of international law events during the year 2014. Readers interested in a particular substantive or geographic area should read not only this year's summary, but also those from earlier years.

We work with a team of volunteer Deputy Editors from around the world. The Deputy Editors include a great many law professors who specialize in legal writing, international law, and topics related to foreign and international law. The ABA Section of International Law is blessed to have such a skilled, dedicated, and generous team of Deputy Editors, many of whom have now served for several years. We are now sometimes in the fortunate position of having more editors than articles. Here is the list of the Deputy Editors who worked on articles this year, with apologies to anyone omitted from the list. Together with the lists from previous years, we believe that we have the strongest editorial team of any journal in the world. We thank all of our committee editors named in the individual articles and our deputy editors named here for the generous contributions of their time and talent.

David W. Austin (California Western School of Law)

Christine Pedigo Bartholomew (State University of New York at Buffalo Law School)

Brooke J. Bowman (Stetson University College of Law)

Megan E. Boyd (Georgia State University College of Law)

Charles R. Calleros (Arizona State University Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law)

Anna M. Chan (St. Thomas University School of Law)

Bradley J. Charles (Western Michigan University Thomas M. Cooley Law School)

Maureen Collins (The John Marshall Law School—Chicago)

Lurene Contento (The John Marshall Law School—Chicago)

Sha-Shana N.L. Crichton (Howard University School of Law)

Cara L. Cunningham Warren (University of Detroit Mercy School of Law)

Melody R. Daily (University of Missouri School of Law)

Jennifer Davis (University of New Hampshire School of Law)

Erin A. Donelon (Tulane University School of Law)

Uche Ewelukwa (University of Arkansas School of Law at Fayetteville)

Kathryn Fehrman (California Western School of Law)

Raúl Fernández-Calienes (St. Thomas University School of Law)

J. Scot Garrison (Oakland County, Michigan)

Gabrielle L. Goodwin (Indiana University Maurer School of Law)

Aaron Richard Harmon (Qatar University College of Law)

Louisa M.A. Heiny (University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law)

Kimberly Holst (Arizona State University Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law)

Maureen Johnson (Loyola Law School Los Angeles)

Thea Johnson (Stanford Law School)

Katherine Silver Kelly (The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law)

Rosa Kim (Suffolk University Law School)

YEAR IN REVIEW 2014

Hether Clash Macfarlane (University of the Pacific McGeorge School of Law)

Sammy M. Mansour (Michigan State University College of Law)

Karin Mika (Cleveland State University, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law)

Allison Mittendorf (The Ohio Northern University Petit College of Law)

Andrea J. Mooney (Cornell Law School)

Deborah Moritz (University of Wisconsin Law School)

Mary-Beth Moylan (University of the Pacific McGeorge School of Law)

Ann L. Nowak (Touro Law Center)

Jason Palmer (Stetson University College of Law)

Tanya J. Pierce (Texas A&M University School of Law)

Julie Lynne St. John (University of Detroit Mercy School of Law)

Stacy Scaldo (Florida Coastal School of Law)

Tamar R. Schwartz (University of Richmond School of Law)

Karen A. Shaw (Loyola University of Chicago School of Law)

David Simon (Florida Coastal School of Law)

Christine M. Venter (Notre Dame Law School)

On behalf of the readers and researchers who will use this volume in future years, we thank the hundreds of authors, committee editors, deputy editors, and law student editors whose collective efforts produced this volume and whose work over the years have created a reliable and useful record of international law developments. It has been an honor for each of us to work with you.

Cindy Galway Buys

Southern Illinois University School of Law

Kim D. Chanbonpin

The John Marshall Law School—Chicago

Mark E. Wojcik

The John Marshall Law School-Chicago