

Bellwether Magazine

Volume 1 Number 62 *Summer* 2005

Article 11

7-1-2005

Commencement 2005

This paper is posted at ScholarlyCommons. http://repository.upenn.edu/bellwether/vol1/iss62/11 For more information, please contact libraryrepository@pobox.upenn.edu.









Commencement 2005

Students and their families assembled at the Zellerbach Theatre of the Annenberg Center on May 16 for the 120th Commencement Exercises of the School.

With the Class of 2005, Penn has graduated 6,158 veterinarians, 2,059 women and 4,099 men. The Class of 2005 numbered 105 and is composed of 72 women and 33 men.

Dean Alan M. Kelly welcomed everyone and introduced **Christine C. Connelly**, chairperson, School of Veterinary Medicine Board of Overseers. Calling her a "model of excellence," Dean Kelly awarded her the silver Bellwether Medal, which is the highest recognition given by the School.

The commencement address was given by Edwin Sayres, president and chief executive officer of the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. Mr. Sayres received the bronze Bellwether Medal for Distinguished Leadership for his compelling record of achievement in animal welfare.

In the presentation of diplomas and hooding, Dr. Kelly was assisted by **Dr. Gary Smith**, Dean's Awardee for Leadership in Clinical Science Education; **Dr. John R. Pehrson**, Dean's Awardee for Leadership in Basic Science Education; and Associate Dean **Jeffrey A. Wortman, V'69**.

Marshall was **Dr. Charles D. Newton**, deputy associate dean.

Class President Michelle Elizabeth Rosero, V'05, presented comments and received the Class Flag from James V. Stewart, V'68, president of the Veterinary Medical Alumni Society. Dr. Kelly then awarded the prizes to the graduates, assisted by Dr. Wortman.

The Veterinarian's Oath was administered by **Timothy J. Ireland, V'90**, president of the Pennsylvania Veterinary Medical Association.

For more Commencement photos, see alumni.vet.upenn.edu/commencement 2005photos.htm.



Photos by Addison Geary

Class of 2005

Kimberly Anne Alexander Elissa Aaron Allen Amanda Louise Andracavage Nicole Marie Arms Nina Elizabeth Atwood Emily Corinna Bedon Adam James Behrens Joseph Francis Bloom Christopher Howard Blum Joseph Thomas Borthwick Amanda Marie Bowden Jennifer Helen Brownhill Meghann Kathryn Brumsted Christopher William Brunner Breanna Lee Buxton Morgan Elizabeth Callahan-Javitz Ianeé Olivia Carr Lynn Castiglia Lin-Yu Diana Chang Kristin Anne Chester Andrew John Church Rachel Erin Cianciolo Derek Duane Cissell Daniel John Clayton Jennifer Marks Cohen Mary Kathleen Coughlin Alexandre Elena Daley Anthony Richard Dallatore

Award Recipients

Leonard Pearson Prize Garret Evan Pachtinger

J.B. Lippincott Prize Nina Elizabeth Atwood

1930 Class Prize in Surgery Amanda Marie Bowden

Auxiliary to the American Veterinary Medical Association Prize Sarah Margaret Reuss

Faculty/Student Chapter, AVMA Prize Janeé Olivia Carr

Phi Zeta Award Fred Alan Wininger

American Animal Hospital Association Award Hannah Latham Flynn

American Association of Feline Practitioners Award Elizabeth Eva Goedeke

American College of Veterinary Radiology Award Justin Daniel Kontir Stephanie Danielle DiFrischia Heather Beth DiGiacomo Ian Iav Driben Amy Cleveland Durham Stacey L. Dworkin Ashlea Beth Erk Karlin Henry Erk Lauren Elisha Feldman Joseph Fent III Hannah Latham Flynn Laurel Anne Frydenborg Christopher Des Garg Keira Johanna Geithman Douglas Richard Gilison Rachel Michelle Glaser Elizabeth Eva Goedeke Sabrina Hanahoe Goscilo Sarah Katharine Portal Graboys Nora Selby Grenager Janine Marie Haney Nicole Rose Hehn Mary Ellen Hennessey Anna Lenore Hilton Alice Ai-Tzu Huang Melissa Ann Java Abbey Harding Jones Luke Taylor Jones

Robert Patrick Juliano, Jr.

Surgeons Prizes

Joseph Fent III

David Scott Sherer

Field Service Prize

Kristin Anne Chester

Nina Elizabeth Atwood

Rebecca Kathleen Taylor

James Hazlitt Jones Prize

Large Animal Medicine Prize

Sarah Katharine Portal Graboys

Nina Elizabeth Atwood

Hill's Award

in Biochemistry

American College of Veterinary

Small Animal Surgery Prize

Mary Kathleen Coughlin

Large Animal Surgery Prize Sarah Katharine Portal Graboys

Meghann Kathryn Brumsted

Everingham Prize for Cardiology

The Peter Francis Anatomy Award

Michael Steven Pierdon

BI-Vetmedica Swine Medicine Awards

Matthew Jason Jurikson Jessica Amanda Kaleta Zaheda Khan Geraldine Ann Kilkelly Justin Daniel Kontir Alexandra Cole Koprowski Nathaniel Koval Daniel Philip Laucks Chung Min Lee Rebecca Anne Linke Alison Beth Loupos Jennifer Ann Luff Amy Kathleen Martins Lauren R. May Carolyn Patricia McKee Laura Danielle McNelis Hilary April Metz Jennifer Shannon Moll Brooke Ellen Moore Timothy Lyle Edward Mosebey Tracy P. Moussa Audra Dorothy Olsen Brian John Orr Garret Evan Pachtinger Brian Scott Palmeiro Elizabeth Sarah Perone Michael Steven Pierdon Zoë Margaret Ramagnano

Diana Claire Rawstrom Nancy Kathleen Reilly Matthew Gerald Reimert Sara Jeanne Reissenweber Sarah Margaret Reuss James Lawrence Rhodes Ellen Joy Rickey Michelle Elizabeth Rosero John Rossi Rosemary Vital Santos John Edward Schaible, III Ellyn Margaret Shea David Scott Sherer Aimee Simpson Sacha Rae Snyder David Lewis Taetle Rebecca Kathleen Taylor Erica Lesley Tramuta-Drobnis Heather Kathleen Westfall Fred Alan Wininger Tracy Hyer Wynder Billie Jo Zeigler

December 22, 2004 Alfredo J. Geigel-Ortiz

Large Animal Surgery Prize Jennifer Marks Cohen

> Merck Awards Small Animal Award Matthew Gerald Reimert Large Animal Award Billie Jo Zeigler

1956 Class Award for Achievement in Pathology Jennifer Ann Luff

George M. Palmer Prize Nora Selby Grenager

Pfizer Animal Health Small Animal Clinical Proficiency Award Nicole Marie Arms

Pfizer Swine Proficiency Award Joseph Fent III

Pfizer Veterinary Special Team Award in Dentistry Garret Evan Pachtinger

Pfizer Veterinary Special Team Award in Dermatology Brian Scott Palmeiro Charles F. Reid Sports Medicine and Imaging Award Derek Duane Cissell

Lynn Sammons Food Animal Award Jennifer Shannon Moll

ScheringPlough Award for Swine Production Medicine Meghann Kathryn Brumsted

VECCS Award for Proficiency in Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Medicine Melissa Ann Java

Morris L. Ziskind Prize in Food Animal Medicine Michael Steven Pierdon

Morris L. Ziskind Prize in Public Health Lauren R. May