Illinois State University ISU ReD: Research and eData

School of Theatre and Dance Programs

Theatre and Dance

Fall 1982

Hay Fever

School of Theatre and Dance *Illinois State University*

Follow this and additional works at: https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/sotdp

Part of the Theatre and Performance Studies Commons

Recommended Citation

School of Theatre and Dance, "Hay Fever" (1982). School of Theatre and Dance Programs. 87. https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/sotdp/87

This Book is brought to you for free and open access by the Theatre and Dance at ISU ReD: Research and eData. It has been accepted for inclusion in School of Theatre and Dance Programs by an authorized administrator of ISU ReD: Research and eData. For more information, please contact ISUReD@ilstu.edu.



ILLINOIS STATE UNIVERSITY COLLEGE OF FINE ARTS DEPARTMENT OF THEATRE

Presents

HAY FEVER

by

Noel Coward

Directed by JEAN SCHARFENBERG

Scenic Design by WILLIAM J. PIERSON

Lighting Design by LYNDA J. KWALLEK Costume Design by DAN L. WILHELM

Property Design by GARY G. OLSEN

Technical Direction by JEFFREY ENTWISTLE

Produced by Special Arrangement with Samuel French, Inc., 25 West 45th Street, New York, N.Y. 10036

> WESTHOFF THEATRE November 11-13, 16-20 8:00 P.M. 1982-83 Season

CAST

(in order of appearance)

S S S S S S S S S S S S S S S S S S S
Sorel Bliss MARY L. HAGER
Simon Bliss ROBERT PETKOFF
Clara KAREN M. ELDRED
Judith Bliss SUSANN HENRY
David Bliss
Sandy Tyrell RANDELL FRYMAN
Myra Arundel
Richard Greatham THOM MILLER
Jackie Coryton BARBARA WATSCHKE
Understudies:
MICHELLE DAHMER (Sorel), ANDREW MAY (Male Roles) and
CATE PICKAVANCE (Judith)

SETTING

Hall of the Bliss' House at Cookham

SYNOPSIS OF SCENES

ACTI

a Saturday afternoon in June

ACT II

Saturday evening

ACT III

Saturday morning

AMERICAN COLLEGE THEATRE FESTIVAL XV

Presented by the JOHN F. KENNEDY CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS

Produced by the UNIVERSITY AND COLLEGE

THEATRE ASSOCIATION
a division of the American Theatre Association

Supported in Part By a Grant From THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

sponsored by THE AMOCO COMPANIES

ISU and the American College Theatre Festival

You are about to become involved in more than a play produced by the Illinois State University Department of Theatre.

Hay Fever is entered in the American College Theatre Festival, and the student actors, actresses, designers, and crew members hope it will be one of the productions chosen to perform in a national Festival in the spring of 1983 at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington D.C.

More than 350 productions and 10,150 students will compete for awards, scholarships, and special grants for actors, playwrights, designers, and critics.

For thirteen consecutive years, an ISU Department of Theatre production has been invited to participate in the Illinois-Wisconsin Regional Festival. This remarkable record is unequaled by any other college or university in the nation. All of the department's faculty directors have had productions invited to the regional Festival, including a student-authored play Dust Summer directed by Cal Pritner, A Streetcar Named Desire directed by Jean Scharfenberg, From All Things Evil, another student written script directed by John Kirk, Equus directed by Don LaCasse, The Shadow Box directed by Ralph Lane, and last year's production, The White Rose of Munich, staged by MFA directing candidate Karla Koskinen.

Among the highlights of ISU's participation in ACTF was the stirring and moving presentation of *One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest* which was chosen to be performed in Washington, D.C. in the spring of 1974. This production, which was directed by Cal Pritner, received a standing ovation from the Kennedy Center audience and critical acclaim from the *Washington Post* and *Washington Star*.

Individual students from the Department of Theatre have also amassed numerous honors and awards through ISU's participation in ACTF. Perhaps the best known honor is the Irene Ryan Award for acting excellence. A number of our actors have been chosen to compete nationally for the Irene Ryan; an ISU graduate, Mark Tymchyshyn, won the national award in 1980. Students have also been active in all of the other competitive areas, including Design and Criticism.

We invite you now to sit back and enjoy **Hay Fever**, This season's entry in the American College Theatre Festival.

PRODUCTION STAFF

Stage Manager—Terry Rothenberger
Vocal Work—Douglas Harris
Sound Consultant—Roar Schaad
Master Electrician—Dan Burke
Assistant Stage Manager—Amy Hutcheson
Assistant to the Director—Kathy Tribbey
Assistant to the Costume Designer—Steven Miller
Production Assistant—Primus Lee Sanders

PRODUCTION CREWS

Costumes—Steven Miller (Crew Head), Anthony Cesaretti, Linda Leigh Heath, Caroline Stansky Lighting—Chuck Greenwood, Margaret Reidy Makeup—Tammy Doyle, Candace Hartkop Sound Operator—Margaret Anne Barrett

STUDENT PROMOTION COMMITTEE

Daniel Rivkin (Chairman), Margie Barrett, Mary Margaret Barry, Laurie Behrman, Janice Carter, Diana Dermit, Tammy Doyle, Helen Eigenberg, Michael Fisher, Chris Hefferman, Lisa Hyncik, Bonnie Lucas, Bradley Look, Dan Proctor, Lori Jo Rush

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Nancy Foster Ruth Howell Tim Jones Kevin Menken Brian Morris

Mr. and Mrs. Cal Pritner

Ginger Scott Norma L. West

Michael Moberly of Appearances

For your information. . .

CAMERAS AND RECORDING EQUIPMENT are strictly forbidden in the theatre.

LATECOMERS will be seated in the balcony.

TICKET EXCHANGES may be made only by Season Subscribers. Tickets must be returned to the Westhoff Box Office at least three days prior to the performance.

SMOKING is allowed only in the lobby and outside the building.

WHEELCHAIR PATRONS can arrange for special seating when tickets are purchased.

FUND-RAISING PARTIES can be arranged with your organization. For information, call Don LaCasse at 438-7314.

THE UNIVERSITY THEATRE REQUESTS that patrons refrain from leaving their seats, talking, or causing any unnecessary disturbances during this evening's presentation that might distract the performance.

We thank you for your consideration.

UNIVERSITY THEATRE PRODUCTION STAFF

Business Manager—Don LaCasse Costume Shop Supervisor—Jan Walter Scene Shop Supervisor—Dennis Mays

COSTUME SHOP

Graduate Assistants—Marshall B. Anderson, Ruth Howell, Steve Miller, Kent Streed

Undergraduate TA—Terry Rothenberger

Undergraduate Assistants—Alice Griffith, Lisa Hyncik, Mary McFarland, Linda Roach, Kari Rust, Linda Schlesinger, Anna Welcome

MANAGEMENT AREA

Box Office Manager—Phyllis Schuringa
Publicity Supervisor—Megan E. Peterson
Allen Theatre Coordinator—Mark Greenleaf
Special Projects Coordinator—Gayle Gerard
University Theatre Photographer—Robert Roarty
University Theatre House Manager—Sheryl Johnston
Management Assistants—Joanne Gentille, Lori Jo Rush, Jacque Camp,
Linda Pouk, Jane Sonnenberg

SCENE SHOP

Graduate Assistants—Randle H. Farris, Nancy Foster, Lynda J. Kwallek, Gary Olsen, Norma L. West

Undergraduate Assistants—James W. Borrelli, Jim Coffing, Dennis Youmans

Prop Room—Karin Anderson

Sound-Joe West

All Production areas are assisted by numerous practicum students.

DEPARTMENT OF THEATRE FACULTY AND STAFF

FACULTY
Chairperson: Alvin Goldfarb
Edward A. Andreasen, C. Eric Bickley, Jeffrey Entwistle, Kathryn Ervin,
Marcia Grund, Douglas Harris, John W. Kirk, Donald LaCasse, Ralph L.
Lane, Linaya Leaf, Calvin Lee Pritner, Pamela Ritch, J. William Ruyle, Barry
Sabath, Jean Scharfenberg, John Sharpham, Patricia Snoyer, Frank C.
Vybiral, Ronald Wainscott

CIVIL SERVICE STAFF

Dennis Mays, Patricia Neef, Vicky Ofenloch, Wilma Pforr, Jan Walter

COMING THIS SEMESTER

ALLEN THEATRE

MEDEA by Euripides December 3-8 at 8:00 PM and December 4th at 2:00 PM