Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

2-26-2010

Academic and Student Affairs Committee, February 26, 2010

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Academic and Student Affairs Committee, February 26, 2010" (2010). Board of Trustees Committee Minutes. 487.

https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/487

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Academic & Student Affairs Committee E. Craig Wall Sr. School of Business Administration Building, Board Room February 26, 2010

Committee Members Mr. Larry L. Biddle, Mr. Joseph L. Carter, Mr. Samuel H. Frink,

Present: Mr. Dan S. Jolles, Dr. Michael S. Ruse, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr.

Eugene C. Spivey and Mr. Robert G. Templeton

Other Board Members Mr. William H. Alford, Ms. Natasha M. Hannah and

Present: Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson

Others Present: Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Ms. Stacie A. Bowie, Mr. Will Garland,

Ms. Haven Hart and Ms. Chyrel Stalvey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting.)

Dr. Smith brought the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.

Mr. Templeton moved to approve the Academic & Student Affairs Committee minutes of January 21, 2010. Mr. Carter seconded, and the motion carried.

As there were personnel issues to discuss, the committee went into Executive Session. Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

Mr. Templeton made a motion to recommend to the full Board of Trustees that the Administration work down the list provided by the Honorary Degree Committee to award honorary degrees and provide a commencement speaker (Motion 10-26). Mr. Carter seconded and the motion carried.

Mr. Spivey made a motion to recommend to the full Board of Trustees to award emeritus status at retirement: Distinguished Professor Emeritus to Jill Sessoms and Dennis Wiseman and Emeritus Professor to Lee Bollinger (Motion 10-20). Mr. Frink seconded and the motion passed.

Mr. Spivey made a motion to recommend to the full Board of Trustees to promote the following to Associate Professor with tenure: Gayle Disney, Kevin Godwin, Austin Hitt, Thomas Hoffman, Miglena Ivanova, Marvin Keene, Richard Monroe, Jason Ockert, Patricia Piver, Paul Richardson, Kerry Schwanz, Frances Sinclair, Kenneth Small, Deborah Walker and Andrew Weinbach; Promotion to Associate Professor (already tenured) Lisa Barboun; and promotion to Professor: Stephen Bush, Elsa Crites, Jane

Academic & Student Affairs Committee February 26, 2010

Guentzel, Greg Krippel, Nils Rauhut, and James Tully (Motion 10-19). Mr. Frink seconded and the motion passed.

For information only, Dr. Sheehan reported that the Faculty Senate approved a motion to waive the core curriculum requirement for those individuals coming to Coastal Carolina who have an associate of arts or associate of science degree. Last year there were 1400 graduates with one of these degrees. Our records now indicate that we have fewer than 30 individuals coming to Coastal Carolina with these degrees. Coastal Carolina and other universities within the state require those entering with these degrees to complete the schools' core curriculum. Faculty has determined that we could and should recruit that population and waive the core requirement to increase revenue without hurting the quality of our educational process.

As there was no further business, the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Samuel H. Frink Secretary/Treasurer