The Visual Computer

EDITORIAL

International Journal of Computer Graphics

Editorial

Nadia Magnenat-Thalmann

University of Geneva, MIRALab/C.U.I., 24, rue General Dufour, 1211 Geneva 4, Switzerland E-mail: thalmann@miralab.unige.ch

Dear readers and authors of the Visual Computer,

This year, we are celebrating an anniversary: the Visual Computer is 20 years old. We therefore are dedicating a special anniversary issue for which the pioneers of computer graphics have provided papers. The journal was founded by Prof. Tosiyasu L. Kunii with a group of researchers, most of whom are still on the editorial board. The journal started with four issues a year and has increased its number of issues steadily. Due to the high submission rate and to answer the needs of conferences, authors and readers, Springer will annually publish 12 issues of the Visual Computer starting this year. Although the paper acceptation rate is around 25%, it is necessary to have 12 issues a year in order to satisfy the submission rate. The Visual Computer is therefore becoming an important academic reference in the computer graphics research community.

To start with the 2005 publications, we have merged issue one and issue two. You have a very thick issue grouping together a dozen papers dealing with curves and surfaces, solid modelling in VR, collision detection, surface modelling with ternary interpolating subdivision, curve interpolation, free-form deformation with weighted T-spline, etc. You can observe that the Visual Computer is a journal that mainly offers papers within the broad theme of geometry.

During the year, we will also publish other special issues, such as an issue on the best extended papers of the IEEE symposium on 3D Data Processing, Visualization and Transmission and a special issue on the Israel-Korea Bi-National Conference on Geometric Modeling and Computer Graphics. All selected papers for the conference Pacific Graphics 2005 will be

published in the Visual Computer as a conference volume. We will also have a special issue on Cyberworlds 2005.

I take this opportunity to wish you a very pleasant academic year. I would like to thank the authors and readers of the Visual Computer for their interest in the journal. I would also like to thank the reviewers whose silent work is highly appreciated. Without their hard work, the journal could not exist. I would also like to thank the publisher Springer, particularly Ms. Ria Frauenfeld and Mr. Alfred Hofmann, for their strong support and nice collaboration.

Nadia Magnenat-Thalmann Editor-in-chief of the Visual Computer

External Reviewers in 2004

Okan Arikan, UC Berkeley, USA

Ulf Assarsson, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Phillip Azariadis, University of the Aegean, Greece

Kavita Bala, Cornell University, USA

Heinrich Bülthoff, Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics, Germany

Alexander G. Belyaev, Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Saarbrücken, Germany

Ronan Boulic, EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland

Published online: 16 February 2005 - © Springer-Verlag 2005

Baoquan Chen, UMN, USA

Jim X. Chen, George Mason University, USA

Yves Chiricota, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, Canada

Sunghee Choi, KAIST, Republic of Korea

Niels Jørgen Christensen, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

Yiorgos Chrysanthou, University Of Cyprus, Cyprus Frederic Cordier, University of Geneva, Switzerland Michel Couprie, ESIEE, France

A. M. Day, University of East Anglia, Great Britain Doug DeCarlo, Rutgers, USA

Herve Delingette, INRIA, Sophia Antipolis, France

Fabian Di Fiore, Expertise Center for Digital Media -Limburg University Center, Belgium

Neil Dodgson, University of Cambridge, Great Britain

George Drettakis, Inria Sophia-Antipolis, France

David Eberly, Magic Software, USA

Jihad El-Sana, Ben Gurion University of The Negev, Israel

Gershon Elber, Technion, Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

Chen Falai, Chinese University of Science and Technology, P.R. China

Ron Fedkiw, Stanford University, USA

Jieqing Feng, Zhejiang University, P.R. China

Anath Fischer, Technion, Israel

Stefan Funke, MPI, Germany

Eric Galin, CNRS, France

Franca Giannini, IMATI-Institute for Applied Mathematics and Information Technologies, Italy

Peter Giblin, University of Liverpool, Great Britain

Ron Goldman, Rice University, USA

Craig Gotsman, Technion, Israel

Cindy Grimm, Washington University, USA

Eitan Grinspun, Columbia University, USA

Igor Guskov, University of Michigan, USA

Patrick Hébert, Université Laval, France

Nicolas Holzschuch, INRIA, France

Kai Hormann, consiglio nazionale delle richerce, Italy

Insung Ihm, Sogang University, Republic of Korea

Masa Inakage, KEIO University Shonan Fujisawa Campus, Japan

Tobias Isenberg, University of Calgary, Canada

Takayuki Itoh, Chuo University, Japan

Henrik Wann Jensen, University of California, San Diego, USA

Soon Ki Jung, Kyungpook National University, Republic of Korea

Evaggelia-Aggeliki Karabassi, University of Athens, Greece

Chang-Hun Kim, Korea University, Republic of Korea

HyungSeok Kim, University of Geneva, Switzerland

Myung-Soo Kim, Seoul National University, Republic of Korea

James Klosowski, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, USA

Ivana Kolingerová, University of West Bohemia, Czech Republic

Jacques-Olivier Lachaud, Université Bordeaux, France Anselmo Lastra, University of North Carolina, USA J.P. Lewis, USC, USA

Frederick Li, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

Nathan Litke, California Institute of Technology, USA

Lee Markosian, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, USA

Nelson Max, University of California, USA

Kevin McDonnell, Dowling College, USA

Ronald Metoyer, Oregon State University, USA

Benjamin Mora, Purdue University, USA

Vic Nalwa, Stanford, USA

Ahmad H. Nasri, American University of Beirut, USA

Anton Nijholt, University of Twente, The Netherlands

Carol O'Sullivan, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Yutaka Ohtake, Max-Planck-Institut fur Informatik, Germany

Marc Olano, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, USA

Ming Ouhyoung, National Taiwan University, Republic of China

Alexander Pasko, Hosei University, Japan Sylvain Petitjean, CNRS, France Matt Pharr, Stanford, USA

Frederic Pighin, Institute for Creative Technologies, USC, USA

Konrad Polthier, Zuse Institute Berlin, Germany Kaihuai Qin, Tsinghua University, P.R. China Ravi Ramamoorthi, Columbia University, USA Chaman L. Sabharwal, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA

Faramarz F. Samavati, University of Calgary, Canada Dietmar Saupe, University of Konstanz, Germany Mateu Sbert, Universitat de Girona, Spain Scott Schafer, Rice University, USA

Hyewon Seo, ChungNam National University, Republic of Korea

Takahashi Shigeo, University of Tokyo, Japan Hayong Shin, KAIST, Republic of Korea Philipp Slusallek, Saarland University, Germany Mario Costa Sousa, University of Calgary, Canada Milos Sramek, Vienna University of Technology, Austria

Marc Stamminger, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany

Jorge Stolfi, Instituto de Computação, Brazil

Chiew-Lan Tai, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, Hong Kong

Wen-Kai Tai, National Dong Hwa University, Republic of China

Frederic Vexo, EPFL, Switzerland

Pascal Volino, University of Geneva, Switzerland

Matthew Ward, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA

Rephael Wenger, The Ohio State University, USA Rüdiger Westermann, Technische Universität München, Germany

Peter Wonka, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA KangKang Yin, State University of New Jersey, USA Gabriel Zachmann, University Bonn, Germany