EDITORIAL

Editorial 22/1

R. Alt · H. Österle · K. Heyden

Published online: 17 February 2012

© Institute of Information Management, University of St. Gallen 2012

Dear Readers of Electronic Markets,

As you may be aware, Electronic Markets has now been with Springer for almost 4 years. During this period the landscape of academic publishing has become even more competitive. Although the number of refereed publications grows by 3 to 4% per year, authors and readers seem to focus even more on the top ranked journals. Meanwhile, not only authors from the traditional English-speaking countries are striving for publications with good rankings. Without these publications starting an academic career in Asia or Europe has also become difficult.

While the number of papers usually has a low correlation with their quality, academic journals are challenged in their review processes. However, good reviews require that reviewers dedicate a considerable amount of their sparse time to reviewing. At Electronic Markets we appreciate that many authors submit their work to our journal. In fact, the average number of submissions has doubled since 2007. Difficulties in meeting the required response and cycle times have led us to enhance the organizational capacities at Electronic Markets.

R. Alt · K. Heyden University of Leipzig, Grimmaische Str. 12, 04109 Leipzig, Germany e-mail: rainer.alt@uni-leipzig.de e-mail: heyden@wifa.uni-leipzig.de

H. Österle (☑) University of St. Gallen, Müller-Friedberg-Strasse 8, CH-9000 St. Gallen, Switzerland e-mail: hubert.oesterle@unisg.ch

After discussions with members of the community a broader structure has been conceived which now includes two Editors-in-Chief (Rainer Alt and Hubert Österle), five Senior Editors (Stefan Klein, Nicholas C. Romano, Doug Vogel, Rolf T. Wigand, and Hans-Dieter Zimmermann) and eight Associate Editors (Ioanna Constantiou, Judith Gebauer, Denise Gengatharen, Jingzhi Guo, Stefan Nusser, Shintaro Okazaki, Andreja Pucihar, and Petra Schubert). Senior Editors will have responsibility for specific areas (e.g. journal quality, rankings) and for final decisions regarding publications. Associate Editors oversee the entire review process for dedicated submissions and are also responsible for specific duties (e.g. language quality, position papers). Finally, the Editorial Board has been enhanced with additional members. So, we do not only welcome the new Associate Editors, but also Cathrine A. Dwyer, Ulrike Lechner, Christine Legner, Martin Spann and Lina Zhou who joined the EM community as board members.

We are convinced that these modifications will further improve the quality of published papers and, ultimately, the journal's impact factor. In any case, the time and effort of all members is highly appreciated! Of course, this also applies to all guest editors, reviewers and authors who made the four issues in 2011 possible. A list of all reviewers is enclosed in this issue which also includes four papers regarding the special theme on "Cross-organizational and Cross-border Information Systems/Information Technology". Nicholas Romano and James B. Pick were successful in attracting more than 20 submissions and, finally, accepted four which they will introduce in their separate preface to the special section. The fifth article in this issue is a position paper



2 R. Alt et al.

in the general section. Nitin Aggarwal, Dai Qizhi and Eric A. Walden discuss the question "Are Open Standards Good Business?" and recognize that on the one hand firms reduce risk and increase market acceptance with open standards, while proprietary standards can enable a technological monopoly on the other. The authors compare reactions by investors concerning XML schema announcements with estimated returns for the same stock. The findings show that investors prefer proprietary standards more than open standards.

We hope you enjoy reading these articles. As usual, any feedback on the journal, its new organization, special themes or single contributions is greatly appreciated.

Jan Marco Leimeister

Uwe Leimstoll

Susanne J. Leist

Christine Leitner

Han Li

Oinvu Liao

Binshan Lin

Best regards from St.Gallen and Leipzig,

Your Electronic Markets editorial team Rainer Alt Hubert Österle Karen Heyden

Reviewers in 2011

Witold Abramowicz Joong Ho Ahn Rainer Alt Volker Bach Frank Bannister Stuart J. Barnes Ulrike Baumöl Andrea Beccarini Roman Beck Jörg Becker Steven Bellman Irene Bertschek Markus Bick Flavio Bonfatti Harry Bouwman Hans Ulrich Buhl Raluca Bunduchi Peter Buxmann Christer Carlsson Peter Chamoni Valérie Chanal Brenda Chawner

Brenda Chawner
Ioanna Constantiou
Mary J Cronin
Hua Dai
Robert M. Davison

Henk J. de Vries
Patrick Delfmann
Haluk Demirkan
Yi Ding
Verena Ebner
Alea Fairchild
Agata Filipowska
Jerry Fjermestad
Wing Fok

Samuel Fosso Wamba Holtjona Galanxhi Judith Gebauer
Denise Evangaline Gengatharen
Susanne Magdalene Glissmann
Janis Lee Gogan
Kim Huat Goh
Peter Gomber
Jaap Gordijn
Suparna Goswami

De Liu Gerald Grant Eric Lu Dawn G. Gregg Martina Luckanicova Chengqi Guo André Ludwig Sumeet Gupta Wolfgang Maass Sang Pil Han Maria Madlberger Gordon Hao Matti Mäntymäki Robert Harmon M. Lynne Markus Ling He Shawn McKnight Jukka Heikkila Ulf Melin Thomas Hess Matthias Meyer Oliver Hinz Ali Reza Montazemi Wout Hofman Joseph Mula

Christopher Patrick Holland Rudolf Müller Val Anne Hooper Kyle B. Murray Nan Hu Thomas Myrach Dirk Georg Neumann Wilfred Vincent Huang Sid Huff Jacob Nørbjerg Reimer Ivang Alexander Norta Gregory E. Kersten Shintaro Okazaki Stefan Klein Phillip Olla Hope Koch Gary M Olson Hubert Österle Kai Koong Benoit Otjacques Andy Koronios

Helmut Krcmar Mogens Kuehn Pedersen Fujun Lai Krassie D Petrova Karl R. Lang Arnold O. Picot

Ulrike E. Lechner Eva Podovšovnik Axelsson

Craig M. Parker

Vili Lehdonvirta Gouri Prakash

Ryszard Kowalczyk



Editorial 22/1

Bharat Rao Olaf Reinhold James E. Richard Kai Riemer Peter Rittgen Peter Rohner Glenda Rotvold Terence Saldanha

Kostas Samiotis Roberto Santana Tapia Detlef Schoder Michael Scholz

Ada Scupola Jürgen Seitz

Hannes Selhofer Namchul Shin Boris Shishkov Choon Ling Sia Marianna Sigala

Alexander Simons

Florian Skopik Martin Smits Stefan Smolnik Peijian Song

Thorsten Robert Staake Katarina Stanoevska-Slobeva Charles W. Steinfield

Martin Steininger Rosemary Stockdale

Jens Strüker Brian Subirana Juliana Sutanto Samar I. Swaid Gerrit Tamm Rana Tassabehji

Frédéric Georges Thiesse

Stella Tian Luba Torlina

Virpi Kristiina Tuunainen Aareni Uruthirapathy Clemens van Dinther Pavlos A. Vlachos Ksenija Vodeb Doug Vogel Adam Panagiotis Vrechopoulos

Heinz-Theo Wagner

Yun Wan

Qiu-Hong Wang Christof Weinhardt Anette Weisbecker

Dirk Werth Hannes Werthner Richard Whiddett Rolf T. Wigand James Richard Wolf

Andy Wu
Mu Xia
Zhijun Yan
Jiaqin Yang
Adam Yao
Benjamin Yen
Cheng Zhang
Jing Zhao
Rong Zheng

