Eastern Illinois University The Keep

Minutes Faculty Senate

1983

October 4, 1983

Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://thekeep.eiu.edu/facsen_mins

Recommended Citation

Faculty Senate, "October 4, 1983" (1983). *Minutes.* 860. https://thekeep.eiu.edu/facsen_mins/860

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in Minutes by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.

Booth Library Archives Eastern III. University Charleston, Illinois

VOL. XIII - 62

Eastern Illinois University

FACULTY SENATE

Booth Library Archives Eastern III. University Charleston, Illinois

Minutes of October 4, 1983

PRESENT: LeDuc, Stevens, Nordin, Floyd, Coon, Searle, Gabbard, Goodrick, Sutton, Ziegler,

Rooke, Morice, Stoughton, Reed

ABSENT: Sullivan

VISITORS: From CAA: Scott Calhoun (Student Senator), Jane Lasky, Pat wright. Glenn

Good (Student Senate Speaker), John Cole (Student Body President), Andrey Berman

(Student Awareness), Deann Leatherwood (Eastern News), Sharon Bartling (FAC)

COMMUNICATIONS:

- 1. From Vice President Rives asking to address the Faculty Senate on October 25 re reorganization of Schools of Home Economics and Technology
- 2. From Don Dolton explaining that Don Rogers resigned from the Academic Program Elimination Committee because of his grievance position with the union
- 3. From graduate students in Technology opposing reorganization of School of Technology
- 4. From School of Technology opposing reorganization in a position paper
- 5. Minutes from:

Council of Graduate Studies (9/20) Library Advisory Board (9/16) A and S Curriculum Committee (9/12) Council on Teacher Education (9/27)

REPORTS:

1. From Sharon Bartling:

The Faculty Advisory Committee to the Illinois Board of Higher Education had its first meeting of the year at Illinois State University, September 30.

Dr. Robert Wallhaus, IBHE Deputy Director for Academic and Health Affairs, acquainted new members with the role and responsibilities of the Illinois Board of Higher Education and then discussed issues and agenda items for 1983-84.

Of special interest is the IBHE staff's meeting with proprietary school representatives who object to showing need in order to gain approval for new program. You will recall that I reported last spring that the Faculty Advisory Committee was recommending criteria for the BHE to use in screening new program requests, criteria which out-of-state institutions would also have to meet to gain operating authority. We felt that having to show a need was crucial. Public institutions already have to show that a new program is needed before gaining approval to offer it. The Federation of Independent Colleges and Universities approved need as a criterion. The proprietary schools object that if they are willing to risk their money they should be allowed to do so as free enterprise. I'll report the results of the BHE staff's efforts.

Bill Searle has already told you of the BHE recommendations concerning high school graduation requirements and university admission standards.

The Faculty Advisory will have a standing subcommittee on budgets, in an effort to keep ahead of the crucial decisions, to make recommendations and express concerns at each stage of the budget process. I have been asked to serve on this committee.

Our next meeting is October 28 at Northern Illinois University.

2. LeDuc moved, seconded by Reed, to approve the following changes offered by the Nominations Committee:

UNIVERSITY PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

John Speer replaces Ronald G. Wallace (1985)

ACADEMIC PROGRAM REVIEW ELIMINATION COMMITTEE
Beverly Miller replaces Donald Rogers (1985)

JUDICIAL BOARD

Kent Beeler replaces Michael Weaver (1984)

UNIVERSITY UNION ADVISORY BOARD

Dave Kidwell replaces Johnetta Jones (1984)

LIBRARY ADVISORY BOARD

Carl Curran replaces Richard Wise (1984) Yonus Kathawala replaces Leonard E. Meyer (1985) Annie Lee Jones replaces Ewen Bryden (Alternate) (1984)

COTE

Bob Weidner replaces Rod Buffington (1986)

Carol Stevens Herbert Morice Tom Floyd, Chairperson

OLD BUSINESS:

- 1. Visitors from CAA presented arguments against Coon's proposal to reorganize the committee. After a lengthy exchange of ideas, the visitors left.
- 2. James Davito will attend the October 18 meeting of the Faculty Senate to discuss sick leave related to retirement.

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

Reed moved, seconded by Nordin, to go into executive session. Motion carried. Rooke moved, seconded by Ziegler, to come out of executive session. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 3:30. The next meeting of the Faculty Senate will be on October 11 at 2:15 in the Martinsville Room.

Secretary.