Preface

Dr. Roderik Lindenbergh

Department of Geoscience and Remote Sensing, Delft University of Technology, Delft, The Netherlands

Prof. Dr. Bisheng Yang

LIESMARS, State Key Laboratory of Information Engineering in Surveying, Mapping and Remote Sensing, Wuhan University, Wuhan, Hubei, China

Dr. Jan Boehm

Department of Civil, Environmental and Geomatics Engineering, University College London, London, United Kingdom

Dr. Martin Rutzinger

Institute for Interdisciplinary Mountain Research, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Innsbruck, Austria

Dr. Wei Yao

Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Kowloon, Hong Kong (SAR)

Dr. Martin Weinmann

Institute of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany

Laser Scanning 2017 (LS 2017) is the tenth event of a series of biannual ISPRS workshops focusing on terrestrial, mobile, airborne and spaceborne laser scanning, thereby continuing a tradition that started back in 1999. The workshop brings together experts on acquiring, processing and applying point cloud data obtained by laser scanners and other active imaging systems in both indoor and outdoor environments. Topics include sensor calibration, data acquisition, and data processing steps such as registration, segmentation and classification, feature extraction and object detection. Also signal aspects such as intensity data and full waveform data and topics involving kinetic sensors and moving objects are covered.

The workshop is organized in conjunction with other workshops during the ISPRS Geospatial Week 2017 in Wuhan, China. Laser Scanning is strongly rooted in the ISPRS society. Four

different ISPRS working groups from two technical commissions have worked together in organizing this workshop: WG II/10, 3D Mapping for Environmental and Infrastructure Monitoring; WG II/3, Point Cloud Processing; WG II/4, 3D Scene Reconstruction and Analysis and WG III/6, Remote Sensing Data Fusion. Three further working groups have sponsored the workshop: WG III/1, Thematic Information Extraction; WG III/5, Information Extraction from LiDAR Intensity Data and III/6, Remote Sensing Data Fusion

45 full papers entered a double blind review process. Members of the scientific committee thoroughly read and commented on the papers, and authors received feedback from at least two and often three reviewers. Given the review results we were able to accept 21 papers for inclusion in the ISPRS Annals and 18 papers in the ISPRS Archives, while remaining contributions were either rejected or withdrawn. Selection in favor of ISPRS Annals was done based on the maturity of a manuscript as judged by both the reviewers and the organizing committee, but it should be noted that also the contributions that will appear in the ISPRS Archives contain some very interesting new ideas.

Finally, we wish to thank all authors for their contributions and all reviewers for their excellent job in evaluating the manuscripts. We look forward to the ISPRS Geospatial Week 2017, to the different oral and poster presentations in LS 2017, but also to the possibility to exchange ideas both within our workshop and with the presenters and visitors of the other workshops that together make the Geospatial Week.

Organizing Committee, Laser Scanning 2017:

Roderik Lindenbergh, Bisheng Yang, Jan Boehm, Martin Rutzinger, Wei Yao, Martin Weinmann

Scientific Committee

- David Belton (Curtin University, Australia)
- Robert Blaskow (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany)
- Rosmarie Blomley (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
- Magnus Bremer (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
- Andreas Cziferszky (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
- Jean-Emmanuel Deschaud (MINES ParisTech, France)
- Anette Eltner (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany)
- Higinio Gonzalez-Jorge (University of Vigo, Spain)
- Ben Gorte (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)
- Bo Guo (Shenzhen University, China)
- Marcus Hebel (Fraunhofer IOSB, Germany)
- Monica Herrero (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)
- Bernhard Höfle (University of Heidelberg, Germany)
- Ludwig Hoegner (Technische Universität München, Germany)
- Hai Huang (Universität der Bundeswehr München, Germany)

- Boris Jutzi (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
- Sanna Kaasalainen (Finnish Geodetic Institute, Finland)
- Kourosh Khoshelham (University of Melbourne, Australia)
- Peter Krzystek (Munich University of Applied Sciences, Germany)
- Xinlian Liang (Finnish Geodetic Institute, Finland)
- Xiangguo Lin (Chinese Academy of Surveying and Mapping, China)
- Paula Litkey (Finnish Geodetic Institute, Finland)
- Tamas Lovas (Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary)
- Gottfried Mandlburger (University of Stuttgart, Germany)
- Leena Matikainen (Finnish Geodetic Institute, Finland)
- Andreas Mayr (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
- Abdul A. M. Nurunnabi (Curtin University, Australia)
- Michael Olsen (Oregon State University, USA)
- Sander Oude Elberink (University of Twente, The Netherlands)
- Chris Parrish (Oregon State University, USA)
- Francesco Pirotti (University of Padova, Italy)
- Przemyslaw Polewski (Munich University of Applied Sciences, Germany)
- Cristiano Premebida (University of Coimbra, Portugal)
- Pasi Raumonen (Tampere University of Technology, Finland)
- Camillo Ressl (TU Vienna, Austria)
- Belen Riveiro (University of Vigo, Spain)
- José Alberto Rodrigues (Instituto Superior de Engenharia de Lisboa, Portugal)
- Andreas Roncat (TU Vienna, Austria)
- Franz Rottensteiner (Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany)
- Marco Scaioni (Tongji University, China)
- Konrad Schindler (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
- Danilo Schneider (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany)
- Ivan Tomljenovic (University of Zagreb, Croatia)
- Linh Truong-Hong (TU Vienna, Austria)
- Bruno Vallet (IGN, France)
- Jinhu Wang (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)
- Michael Weinmann (University of Bonn, Germany)
- Volker Wichmann (alpS GmbH, Austria)
- Man Sing Wong (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong)
- Jianwei Wu (Wuhan University, China)
- Sven Wursthorn (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
- Wen Xiao (Newcastle University, UK)
- Yusheng Xu (Technische Universität München, Germany)
- Wuming Zhang (Beijing Normal University, China)
- Dong Zhen (Wuhan University, China)