



The Association for Learning Technology's Learning Technologist of the Year Award celebrates and rewards excellent practice and outstanding achievement in the learning technology field.

The Award was presented at the ALT conference in Leeds in September 2011.

## Individual award

#### **Winners**

Oliver Quinlan from Robin Hood Primary School, South Birmingham, UK, but now Lecturer in Education at Plymouth University.

John Rutherford from Marlborough School Science College, St Albans, Hertfordshire, UK.

#### Runner up

Neil Morris from the Faculty of Biological Sciences at the University of Leeds, UK.

#### **Highly commended**

Michael Thrussell from Henshaws College, Harrogate, Yorkshire, UK.

#### Team award

#### Winner

In-Folio Implementation Team based on JISC Techdis, The Rix Centre, The National College for Young People with Epilepsy, Portland College and National Star College, UK.

#### Joint second prize

Learning Teaching and Technology Centre (LTTC) Team from the Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT), Ireland

The Open Nottingham Team from the University of Nottingham, UK.

## The successful entries

with comments from the judges

## **Individual** award



#### **Winners**

Oliver Quinlan is joint winner of the individual award because of his groundbreaking and pedagogically effective work using collaboration technologies including class blogs and Google docs as a central part of the learning environment of children at Robin Hood Primary School.

#### Judges' comments

The panel was impressed with Oliver's:

- focus on sharing good practice with other teachers in the UK and internationally;
- skill and fluency in deploying freely available tools in educationally effective ways;
- use of learning technology as a vehicle for formative feedback and reflection, and as a way to give children control of their own learning.



John Rutherford is joint winner of the individual award because of his extraordinary achievement in creating the What2Learn games-based learning website, on which teachers from around the world have created over 70,000 learning games, and which receives up to 50,000 page views per day.

#### Judges' comments

The panel was impressed with John's:

- commitment to keeping the site non-commercial;
- pragmatic and down-to-earth approach;
- focus on creating tools and templates that their teachers are using on a very widespread basis;
- emphasis on using games-based learning to increase student engagement and academic performance.

#### Runner up

Neil Morris is runner up in the individual award because of his outstanding, evidence-based approach to using learning technology to improve teaching and learning for undergraduate students in the faculty of Biological Sciences at the University of Leeds.



#### Judges' comments

The panel was impressed with Neil's:

- leadership in the spread of innovation;
- systematic focus on gathering and using evidence to guide decision-making;
- influence on an instituion-wide approach to enhancing learning with technology.

#### **Highly commended**

Michael Thrussell is highly commended in the individual award because of his impressive work at Henshaws College in Harrogate to develop an accessible website through which people with learning difficulties and disabilities can search for and control videos on YouTube.



#### Winner

The In-Folio Implementation Team consists of five organisations: JISC Techdis, The Rix Centre, The National College for Young People with Epilepsy, Portland College and National Star College.

#### Judges' comments

The In-Folio Implementation Team wins the team award because of its success in developing an e-portfolio system principally for use in the Independent Specialist Colleges Sector. Infolio is an accessible e-portfolio system that enables learners, particularly those with

disabilities or learning difficulties, to record and present their achievements and abilities through a simple interface that allows them to store, arrange and organise multimedia content in simple online pages.

The panel selected the In-Folio team for the award because of the:

- impact and vision of In-Folio itself;
- exemplary way in which the distributed team, involving a university, a JISC service, and four independent





- specialist colleges, approached the project;
- In-Folio's strong and beneficial impact on the Independent Specialist College Sector's use of learning technology more generally.

#### Joint second prize

#### The Dublin Institute of Technology Learning Teaching and Technology Centre Team

Judges' comments

The Learning Teaching and Technology Centre Team is in joint second place in the team award because of the centre's deep and enduring influence on provision at the Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT), and the very professional way in which the staff of LTTC operate as a team.

The panel was very impressed with the:

- passion and commitment of the team;
- well-planned and structured approach taken;
- broader beneficial impact of the team on universities and colleges elsewhere in Dublin.

Back row from left: Kevin O'Rourke; Helen Lamb; Dolores McManus; Roisin Donnelly; Fionnghuala Kelly; Daphne Mulvey; Vincent Farrell; Jen Harvey; Ken Lacey. Front row from left: Linda Boyd; Marian Fitzmaurice; Natasha Roche; Martina Crehan; Muireann O'Keeffe; Frances Boylan; Miriam Allen. Missing from photo: Pauline Rooney; Claudia Igbrude.



#### The Open Nottingham Team











From left to right: Andy Beggan; Steve Stapleton; Patrick Lockley; John Horton; Wyn Morgan. Not pictured: Alison Johnson.

#### Judges' Comments

The Open Nottingham Team is in joint second place in the team award because of the team's impact on the University of Nottingham's use of Open Educational Resources, coupled with the impressive way in which the team functions and is led.

The panel was very impressed with the:

- way the services developed and run by the team are used within the university;
- extent to which the team's work is influencing academic practice;
- relevance of the team's work to the university's activities in China and Malaysia;
- way that the team has put learning technology at the heart of an institution's strategy.

## The judging panel for 2011

- Carol Higgison President of ALT.
- Dave White, representing 2010's team winner the TALL team from the Department for Continuing Education at the University of Oxford.
- Kevin McLaughlin, one of the 2010 individual winners St Peter's Church of England Primary School, Whetstone, Leicestershire.
- Jane Hart Founder of the Centre for Learning & Performance Technologies.
- Peter Twining Director of Vital, and Senior Lecturer in Education at the Open University.
- Christine Lewis UK&EU Justice ICT Advisor, Ministry of Justice.

# A note about the 2012 Learning Technologist of the Year Award

Details of the 2012 Award will be published in early 2012. Organisations interested in sponsoring the 2012 Award should contact Seb Schmoller, Chief Executive of ALT – seb.schmoller@alt.ac.uk.



The Trustees of ALT gratefully acknowledge the generous sponsorship of the 2011 Learning Technologist of the Year Award by Adobe. For more information about Adobe, go to www.adobe.com.



ALT Gipsy Lane Headington Oxford OX3 0BP, UK Registered charity number 1063519 www.alt.ac.uk

This document is available online at: http://repository.alt.ac.uk/2161

V3 20110725 SS/AD