THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL OF THE CHARLES DARWIN FOUNDATION 1964-1988

With the inauguration of the Charles Darwin Research Station on Santa Cruz Island and the signature of the basic agreement with the Government of Ecuador early in 1964, the first stage in the history of the Foundation was concluded. This coincided with the death of Victor van Straelen, the first President and the driving force behind the creation of the Foundation. He was succeeded by Jean Dorst, who, because of his professional commitments had been anxious to retire from the onerous post of Secretary General but was persuaded to undertake the equally demanding duties of President.

Jacques Laruelle served all too briefly as Secretary General as he was killed in a tragic accident in 1967. He was succeeded by Sir Thomas Barlow, a greatgrandson of Charles Darwin, who carried on until 1972.

The Foundation lost its Honorary President in 1975 when Sir Julian Huxley died at the age of 87. He had not been involved in the daily administration but he had intervened decisively at critical moments and his seminal influence both in the 1930's and in the actual organisation of the CDF was of vital importance for the future of Galapagos conservation.

The Council met twice a year. For the convenience of the majority of its members, who were responsible for their own travelling expenses, meetings were held in Europe, usually at the headquarters of UNESCO, a major supporter of the CDF in these early years, as it provided the salary of the Director of the Darwin Research Station.

Owing to never-ending financial stringency, meetings perforce devoted almost as much time to fund-raising as to science and conservation. Between meetings, the burden of administration was shared between the President, the Secretary General, the Secretariat for the Americas and the Director of the CDRS. The Foundation had no office of its own until 1983 (the Palais des Académies in Brussels was merely a legal address) and the officers worked from their homes. In 1964 the composition of the Council was:

Honorary President	Julian Huxley
President	Jean Dorst
Vice-President	Luis Jaramillo
Secretary General	J. Laruelle
Secretary for the Americas	Yale Dawson
Members: Jean-G. Baer, T	homas E. Barlow,
Cristóbal Bonifaz, François Bourliére, Harold J.	
Coolidge, K. Curry-Lindahl, I. Eibl-Eibesfeldt,	
Jean-Paul Harroy, S. Dillon Ripley, Peter Scott,	
Randolph Taylor.	

For the next dozen years there were few changes in the structure of the Council, but in 1976 a new category of members was introduced. Under the 1964 agreement, the Government of Ecuador had the right to nominate an official representative on the Council but had never taken advantage of this clause, although distinguished Ecuadoreans had served in their individual capacity. The Council now proposed to the Government that the heads of the six national institutions most concerned with the Galapagos should become members *ex officio*. This invitation was accepted and, with modifications, determined the composition of the Council until 1989.

Meetings began to be held in North America and Ecuador as well as in Europe and a rhythm eventually developed by which each year one was held in Ecuador and one elsewhere. In 1978 the Council met for the first time in the Galapagos.

In the early 1970's there were important changes among the principal officers. In 1972 G.T. Corley Smith, who had been involved in Galapagos conservation since 1964, took over as Secretary General, serving in this capacity for 10 years and even longer as editor of the Foundation's journal, *Noticias de Galápagos*. In 1973 Jean Dorst retired after serving for 15 years, first as Secretary General and then as President. He found that the growing demand on his time was incompatible with his new responsibilities as Director of France's National Museum of Natural History. His contribution to Galapagos conservation and science had been outstanding and during his period of office the Foundation had grown from a hopeful project to No. 49

a flourishing organization with an international reputation. In particular, the Darwin Research Station had grown very considerably. This had not been the deliberate intention of the Council; expansion simply became irresistible as it was realized how much needed to be done to preserve and restore the Galapagos environment. One consequence of this growth was that, for efficient management, it had become highly desirable that either the President or the Secretary General - or both - should have had experience working at the Research Station. The choice for Dorst's successor naturally fell on Peter Kramer, who had just completed his period as Director of the CDRS. He accepted only after some hesitation as he foresaw that the demands of the job would conflict with his prospects as a university teacher. His distinguished service as President continued until 1984 when he finally abandoned his academic career to become Director of Conservation of the WWF, in which post he was fortunately able to maintin his long connection with the Galapagos. He was succeeded by Craig MacFarland,, who likewise had served as Director of the CDRS.

A major change in the organization took place when Corley Smith retired as Secretary General. Two factors were responsible: one was that the volume of administrative business had steadily grown so that it had become more and more difficult to run the Foundation as a voluntary activity from a spare bedroom in a private house; the other was the increasing participation of Ecuadoreans in the management. Not only was there increasing ex officio representation of national institutions on the Executive Council but there was a separate all-Ecuadorean committee which met regularly. The combination of these two factors led to the opening of the Foundation's first office with a small salaried staff in Quito, where contact could more easily be maintained with government departments, the national media and the CDRS. The new Secretary General was Juan Black Maldonado, who had been one of the first two officers of the Galapagos National Park Service and subsequently the CDF's information officer in Quito. The work load of the General Secretariat was further spread by the creation of a new volunteer Secretariat for Europe in Copenhagen in addition to the long-established

Secretariat for the Americas in Washington D.C.

This was the situation at the end of 1988 when the CDF's original 25 year agreement with the Government was renewed for another 5 years while a revised agreement, adapted to the radically changed circumstances, was being negotiated and new statutes for the Charles Darwin Foundation were being drawn up.

In 1988 the composition of the Council was:

PATRON H.R.H. The Duke of Edinburgh President Mr. Craig MacFarland Vice-President (Ecuador) Dr. Marcelo Santos Vera Vice-President (Europe) Dr. Ole Hamann Secretary General Sr. Juan Black Maldonado Secretary for Europe Dr. Ole Hamann Secretaries for the Americas Dr. David Challinor (Administration). Dr. Tom Simkin (Science) Mrs. Marsha Sitnik (Executive Secretary) Ex Officio Members Sr. Presidente de la República del Ecuador. Sr. Vice-Presidente de la República. Sr. Ministro de Relaciones Exteriores. Sr. Ministro de Agricultura y Ganadería. Sr. Ministro de Energía y Minas. Sr. Ministro de Finanzas. Sr. Comandante General de la Armada Nacional. Sr. Director del Instituto Geográphico Militar. Sr. Presidente de la Casa de Cultura Ecuatoriana. Sr. Director Nacional de Turismo. Sr. Gerente del Instituto Nacional Galápagos. Sr. Director Ejecutivo del CONACYT. Members Mr. Robert McC. Adams. Prof. J. Bouillon Dra. Eugénia del Pino Prof. Jean Dorst Prof. I. Eibl-Eibesfeldt Prof. Peter Grant Prof. J.P. Harroy Prince Henri of Luxembourg Dr. M.S. Hoogmoed Prof. R.D. Keynes Dr. Plutarco Naranjo Vargas Mr. S. Dillon Ripley

- Dr. Ira Rubinoff
- Sir Peter Scott
- Econ. Roque Sevilla
- Mr. G.T. Corley Smith