Location of Repository

UK 2009-2010 repeat station report

By Thomas J.G. Shanahan, Anthony P. Swan and Susan Macmillan


The British Geological Survey is responsible for conducting the UK geomagnetic\ud repeat station programme. Measurements made at the UK repeat\ud station sites are used in conjunction with the three UK magnetic\ud observatories: Hartland, Eskdalemuir and Lerwick, to produce a regional\ud model of the local field each year. The UK network of repeat stations comprises\ud 41 stations which are occupied at approximately 3-4 year intervals.\ud Practices for conducting repeat station measurements continue to evolve as\ud advances are made in survey instrumentation and as the usage of the data\ud continues to change. Here, a summary of the 2009 and 2010 UK repeat\ud station surveys is presented, highlighting the measurement process and\ud techniques, density of network, reduction process and recent results

Topics: Earth Sciences
Publisher: INGV
Year: 2012
DOI identifier: 10.4401/ag-5439
OAI identifier: oai:nora.nerc.ac.uk:500300

Suggested articles


To submit an update or takedown request for this paper, please submit an Update/Correction/Removal Request.