The chamber music of Enrique Granados


Like most of the music Enrique Granados (1867--1916), the Piano Quintet in g minor, Piano Trio in C Major, and the Sonata for Violin and Piano were unpublished at the time of his death, not published until the 1970's. A problem encountered in the current editions of his chamber works with piano is the lack of an accurate representation of the music, including wrong notes, phrasings, dynamic markings, and in certain cases, a complete misrepresentation of the original work, all of which fall short of the composers original intentions. A few reasons may have caused these editorial errors: the lack of attention that Granados and his legacy placed on his own chamber works; the unprofessional manner in which the publishing houses edited his music; the difficulty in finding the location of original manuscripts. These factors may have contributed to the inaccurate editions of his chamber music with piano currently in use today. This document presents an accurate edition of the first movements of the Piano Quintet in g minor, Piano Trio in C Major, and the Sonata for Violin and Piano, based on Granados' original autograph manuscripts. A brief discussion of the influence of nineteenth-century composers such as Schumann, Brahms, and Faure is presented on the chamber works, as well as a discussion on the pianistic legacy of Granados, and how it influences the performance practice of these works. A succinct biographical sketch on Granados and relevant background information on the chamber works with piano are also provided, including the location of the original manuscripts discussed in this treatise. Finally, included in the appendix is an in-depth list of Granados' performances and works performed in the years 1886--1916, including dates, works performed, players, and location of the performance

Similar works

Full text


DSpace at Rice University

Full text is not available
oaioai:scholarship.rice.e...Last time updated on 6/11/2012

This paper was published in DSpace at Rice University.

Having an issue?

Is data on this page outdated, violates copyrights or anything else? Report the problem now and we will take corresponding actions after reviewing your request.