Article thumbnail

Hall of Union (Jiaotai dian)

By unknown


Detail, inscription above Hall of Union; The Forbidden City was the Chinese imperial palace from the Ming Dynasty to the end of the Qing Dynasty. The Inner Palace, on the main axis north of the five-bay Gate of Heavenly Purity (Qianqing men), was a more private part of the Forbidden City. The three inner halls mirror the three great halls of state in the front precinct: the Palace of Heavenly Purity (Qianqing gong), the emperors’ living quarters during the Ming period; the small, square Hall of Union (Jiaotai dian); and the Palace of Earthly Tranquillity (Kunning gong), the living quarters of the Ming empresses. The Hall of Union, the empress’s throne-room, is square and heavy, with solid masonry walls and a single-eaved roof. Source: Grove Art Online; (accessed 5/11/2011

Topics: architecture, decorative arts, historical, rulers and leaders, Chinese, Ming, Qing
Year: 1421
OAI identifier:
Provided by: MIT Libraries Dome
Download PDF:
Sorry, we are unable to provide the full text but you may find it at the following location(s):
  • (external link)
  • Suggested articles

    To submit an update or takedown request for this paper, please submit an Update/Correction/Removal Request.