Skip to main content
Article thumbnail
Location of Repository

Definition of HAI and Criteria For Specific Types of Infections CDC/NHSN Surveillance Definition of Healthcare-Associated Infection and Criteria for Specific Types of Infections in the Acute Care Setting



What follows are the NHSN criteria for all healthcare-associated infections (HAIs). These criteria include those for the “Big Four ” (surgical site infection [SSI], pneumonia [PNEU], bloodstream infection [BSI] and urinary tract infection [UTI]), outlined in earlier chapters of this NHSN manual, as well as criteria for other types of HAIs. Of particular importance, this chapter provides further required criteria for the specific event types that constitute organ/space SSIs (e.g. mediastinitis [MED] following coronary artery bypass graft, intraabdominal abscess [IAB] following colon surgery, etc.). NOTE: The article which is included does not include the updated criteria for UTI which became effective beginning in January, 2009. Instead these criteria are included in the pages that follow the article. Please use these definitions in your NHSN surveillance. NOTE: As of January 1, 2010, Clinical Sepsis (CSEP) is no longer an NHSN Specific Event for BSI. Please disregard the information included on page 316 regarding CSEP, and do not report such events in NHSN. The definitions will be updated with the next publication. March 1, 2010 17-1CDC/NHSN surveillance definition of health care–associated infection and criteria for specific types of infections in the acute care settin

Year: 2011
OAI identifier: oai:CiteSeerX.psu:
Provided by: CiteSeerX
Download PDF:
Sorry, we are unable to provide the full text but you may find it at the following location(s):
  • (external link)
  • (external link)
  • Suggested articles

    To submit an update or takedown request for this paper, please submit an Update/Correction/Removal Request.