Article thumbnail




Every farm has flies and while they are all considered a nuisance, certain types are responsible for spreading diseases. To decrease disease risk to your livestock, it is important to understand where flies live and breed and the various control methods available. Life cycle � Flies progress through 4 life stages: egg, larva (maggots), pupa, and adult. For some species, these stages can take less than 2 weeks to occur in warm weather. � The adult is the stage capable of spreading disease as they contact the environment and animals, carrying disease organisms on their legs and mouthparts. � Adult flies prefer to lay their egg

Year: 2010
OAI identifier: oai:CiteSeerX.psu:
Provided by: CiteSeerX
Download PDF:
Sorry, we are unable to provide the full text but you may find it at the following location(s):
  • (external link)
  • (external link)
  • Suggested articles

    To submit an update or takedown request for this paper, please submit an Update/Correction/Removal Request.