Skip to main content
Article thumbnail
Location of Repository

The bibliography of regional fiction in Britain and Ireland, 1800-2000

By Keith D.M. Snell


Companion volume to: The regional novel in Britain and Ireland, 1800-1990 / edited by K.D.M. Snell. Cambridge : CUP, 1998 -- Rival Jerusalems : the geography of Victorian religion / K.D.M. Snell and Paul S. Ell. Cambridge : CUP, 2000.\ud Includes bibliographical referencesContents: Part 1 England: Bedfordshire; Berkshire; Birmingham and the Black Country; the Brecklands; Buckinghamshire; Cambridgeshire; the Channel Islands; Cheshire; Cornwall; Cumberland, Westmorland and Lancashire north of the sands; Derbyshire; Devon; Dorset; Durham; Essex; the Fens; Gloucestershire; Hampshire; Herefordshire; Hertfordshire; the Isle of Man; the Isle of Wight; Kent; Lancashire; Leicestershire and Rutland; Lincolnshire; London; the Midlands; Norfolk; Northamptonshire; Northumberland; Nottinghamshire; Oxfordshire; the Scilly Isles; Shropshire; Somerset and Bristol; Staffordshire; Suffolk; Surrey; Sussex; Warwickshire; the West Country; Wiltshire; Worcestershire; Yorkshire. Part 2 Ireland: Achill Island; Antrim; Aran Islands; Armagh; Belfast; Carlow; Cavan; Clare; Connaught; Cork; Derry/Londonderry; Donegal; Down; Dublin; Fermanagh; Galway; the Irish midlands; Kerry; Kildare; Kilkenny; Laois; Leitrim; Limerick; Longford; Louth; Mayo; Meath; Monaghan; Munster; the Northern Irish border; Offaly; Rathlin Isle; Roscommon; Sligo; Tipperary; Tyrone; Ulster; Waterford; West of Ireland; West Meath; Wexford; Wicklow. Part 3 Scotland: Aberdeenshire; Angus; Argyll; Ayrshire; Berwickshire; Caithness; Clackmannanshire and Kinross-shire; Clydeside; Dumfriesshire; Dunbarton and Renfrewshire; Edinburgh; Fifeshire; the Firth of Forth; Galloway; Glasgow; the Grampians; the Hebrides and Western Isles; the Highlands; Inverness-shire; Kincardineshire; Kirkcudbrightshire; Lanarkshire; the Lothians; Morayshire; the Orkney Islands; Peeblesshire; Perthshire; the Scottish border; Selkirkshire; the Shetland Islands; the Solway Firth; Stirlingshire; Sutherland; Wigtownshire. Part 4 Wales: Anglesey; Brecknock; Caernarvonshire; Cardiganshire; Carmarthenshire; Glamorgan; Merioneth; Monmouthshire; North Wales; Pembrokeshire; Radnorshire; the Welsh borders; West Wales.Summary: This title is intended as a reference work to accompany the edited book "The Regional Novel in Britain and Ireland, 1800-1990", stretching over the two centuries during which the regional novel has existed as a genre. This particular text grew out of another dimension of the author's research, on the religious geographies of England and Wales, published as "Rival Jerusalems: the Geography of Victorian Religion". The author intends that these two research initiatives - regional literature and religion - will contribute to a fuller understanding and appreciation of the rich regional cultures of Britain and Ireland during a period of increasing globalization.This book is available from Ashgate Publishing at only entr

Publisher: Ashgate
Year: 2002
OAI identifier:
Download PDF:
Sorry, we are unable to provide the full text but you may find it at the following location(s):
  • (external link)
  • (external link)
  • (external link)
  • Suggested articles

    To submit an update or takedown request for this paper, please submit an Update/Correction/Removal Request.